We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (IMEMS)

Staff and Governance

Core Staff

The day-to-day running of IMEMS is the responsibility of the Core Executive Committee, comprising the Director and Associate Directors and the Administrator. 

Publication details for Prof Brian Tanner

Hase, T. P. A., , Buchanan, J. D. R., , Tanner, B. K., , Langridge, S., Dalgliesh, R. M., Foster, S., Marrows, C. H. & Hickey, B. J. (2003). Resonant magnetic x-ray and neutron diffuse studies of transition metal multilayers. Journal of Applied Physics 93(10): 6510-6512.

Author(s) from Durham


Electron scattering mechanisms within metallic multilayers are affected by both structural and magnetic disorders. Off-specular x-ray scattering has long been used to probe the structural interfaces, and it is only recently that it has been applied to the study of magnetic disorder. We compare the resonant magnetic x-ray scattering with off-specular neutron studies from magnetron-sputtered Co/Cu and Co/Ru multilayers grown at the second antiferromagnetic coupling peak. Both techniques yield similar results for the Cu system, and a simple domain model can be applied to extract the magnetic interface morphological parameters. For the Cu system, the in-plane correlation length is field dependent and is 880+/-20 Å after saturation along the hard axis, but increases to 7000+/-100 Å after saturation along the orthogonal easy axis. Both systems show strong out-of-plane correlations in both the structural and magnetic disorders. In all cases, the out-of-plane correlation length for the structural interfaces is 200-250 Å, but the ratio of the magnetic to structural correlations length is dependent on the magnitude of the exchange coupling and ranges from 0.4 to 1.4. .


J. S. Moodera, L. R. Kinder, T. M. Wong, and R. Meservey, Phys. Rev. Lett. 74, 3273 (1995). [MEDLINE]

S. S. P. Parkin et al., J. Appl. Phys. 85, 5828 (1999).

I. Pape, T. P. A. Hase, B. K. Tanner, and M. Wormington, Physica B 253, 278 (1998). [Inspec] [ISI]

G. P. Felcher, R. O. Hilleke, R. K. Crawford, J. Haumann, R. Kelb, and G. Ostrowski, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 58, 609 (1997).

J. B. Kortright, D. D. Awschalom, J. Stöhr, S. D. Bader, Y. U. Idzerda, S. S. P. Parkin, I. K. Schuller, and H. C. Siegmann, J. Magn. Magn. Mater. 207, 7 (1999).

D. Mannix, A. Stunault, N. Bernhoeft, L. Paolasini, G. H. Lander, C. Vettier, F. de Bergevin, D. Kaczorowski, and A. Czopnik, Phys. Rev. Lett. 86, 4128 (2001). [MEDLINE]

T. P. A. Hase, I. Pape, B. K. Tanner, H. Dürr, E. Dudzik, G. van der Laan, C. H. Marrows, and B. J. Hickey, Phys. Rev. B 61, R3792 (2000). [ISI]

S. Langridge, J. Schmalian, C. H. Marrows, D. T. Dekadjevi, and B. J. Hickey, J. Appl. Phys. 87, 5750 (2000). [ISI]

S. Langridge, J. Schmalian, C. H. Marrows, D. T. Dekadjevi, and B. J. Hickey, Phys. Rev. Lett. 85, 4964 (2000). [ISI] [MEDLINE]

S. K. Sinha, E. B. Sirota, S. Garoff, and H. B. Stanley, Phys. Rev. B 38, 2297 (1988). [MEDLINE]

S. B. Wilkins, Ph.D. thesis, University of Durham, 2002.

J. P. Hill and D. F. McMorrow, Acta Crystallogr., Sect. A: Found. Crystallogr. 52, 236 (1996).

Full Executive Committee

Our Full Executive Committee is made up of the Core Executive Committee, listed above, plus a number of executive members including:

International Advisory Board

We are extremely fortunate to have be able to call on the help and guidance of colleagues from around the world who help to shape and guide our direction, strategy and international reach. Our current Advisory Board members are: