We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (IMEMS)

Staff and Governance

Core Staff

The day-to-day running of IMEMS is the responsibility of the Core Executive Committee, comprising the Director and Associate Directors and the Administrator. 

Publication details for Prof. Andrew Beeby

Palsson, L.O., Vaughan, H.L., Smith, A., Szablewski, M., Cross, G.H., Roberts, T., Masutani, A., Yasuda, A., Beeby, A. & Bloor, D. (2006). Guest-host interactions between dichroic dyes and anisotropic hosts. Journal of luminescence 117(1): 113-122.

Author(s) from Durham


The guest–host interaction between dichroic dyes and anistropic hosts has been investigated by means of optical spectroscopy. Two different TCNQ adducts; 2-{4-[(2,6-dimethylmorpholin-4-yl)(4-metylpiperidin-1-yl)methylene]cyclohexa-2,5-dien-1-ylidene} malononitrile (MORPIP) and 2-{4-[cyclohex-1-yltetrahydropyrimidin-2(1H-ylidene]cyclohexa-2,5-dien-1-ylidine} malononitrile (AMINO) have been examined dispersed in a range of nematic liquid crystal mixtures. The result is a substantial impact on the absorption and luminescence when compared to the situation in isotropic solvents. The excited state decay exhibits a complex behaviour showing a multi-exponential decay of the time-resolved luminescence. The photoluminescence quantum yields of the chromophores, also shows strong host dependence. For AMINO, we observe a trend which is indicative of a viscosity dependence. The observations are discussed in view of different solvent–solute interactions between guest and host.

Full Executive Committee

Our Full Executive Committee is made up of the Core Executive Committee, listed above, plus a number of executive members including:

International Advisory Board

We are extremely fortunate to have be able to call on the help and guidance of colleagues from around the world who help to shape and guide our direction, strategy and international reach. Our current Advisory Board members are: