We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (IMEMS)

Staff and Governance

Core Staff

The day-to-day running of IMEMS is the responsibility of the Core Executive Committee, comprising the Director and Associate Directors and the Administrator. 

Publication details for Prof. Andrew Beeby

Khairul, W.M., Porres, L., Albesa-Jove, D., Senn, M.S., Jones, M., Lydon, D.P., Howard, J.A.K., Beeby, A., Marder, T.B. & Low, P.J. (2006). Metal cluster terminated "molecular wires". Journal of cluster science 17(1): 65-85.

Author(s) from Durham


The gold complexes Au(C≡CC6H4C≡CC6H4Me)(PPh3) (3) and {Au(PPh3)}2(μ-C≡CC6H4C≡CC6H4C≡CC6H4C≡C) (6), prepared from the reaction of AuCl(PPh3) with the corresponding terminal or trimethylsilyl protected alkynes, react readily with Ru3(CO)10(μ-dppm) to afford phenylene ethynylene derivatives featuring the Ru3(μ-AuPPh3)(μ-C2R)(CO)7 cluster “end-caps”. The hydrido cluster Ru3(μ-H)(μ-C2C6H4C≡CC6H4Me)(CO)7 (4a) has also been obtained. There are significant differences in the absorption spectra of the organic precursors, the gold complexes and the clusters indicate a mixing of electronic states between the cluster and phenylene ethynylene moieties, while the presence of the Ru3 and in particular Ru3(μ-AuPPh3) cluster end-caps leads to a quenching of the phenylene ethynylene centred emission. The crystallographically determined structures of 3, 4a and Ru3(μ-AuPPh3) (μ-C2C6H4C≡CC6H4Me)(CO)7 (4b) are reported.

Full Executive Committee

Our Full Executive Committee is made up of the Core Executive Committee, listed above, plus a number of executive members including:

International Advisory Board

We are extremely fortunate to have be able to call on the help and guidance of colleagues from around the world who help to shape and guide our direction, strategy and international reach. Our current Advisory Board members are: