We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (IMEMS)

Staff and Governance

Core Staff

The day-to-day running of IMEMS is the responsibility of the Core Executive Committee, comprising the Director and Associate Directors and the Administrator. 

Publication details for Prof. Andrew Beeby

Batsanov, Stepan S., Osavchuk, Alexander N., Naumov, Stepan P., Gavrilkin, Sergey M., Leskov, Anatoly S., Mendis, Budhika G., Beeby, Andrew & Batsanov, Andrei S. (2018). Novel synthesis and properties of hydrogen-free detonation nanodiamond. Materials Chemistry and Physics 216: 120-129.

Author(s) from Durham


Practically hydrogen-free nanodiamond (HFND), a prospective neutron-optical material, was prepared (in up to 3% yield) by detonating pure or graphite-doped RDX in an ice shell and comprehensively characterized by elemental analysis, X-ray diffraction, TEM, SAED, EELS, Raman and IR spectra, ESR, DSC/TGA, and specific-surface (BET) determination. The primary diamond grains are larger (15–16 nm) than in ordinary nanodiamond from RDX/TNT blends (ca. 5 nm) but smaller than in HFND from benzotrifuroxan (27 nm), with electron spins distributed in volume. HFND is much less hygroscopic and more prone to oxidation than ordinary nanodiamond. When heated in air up to 400°С, HFND shown a drastic increase of oxygen/carbon ratio without an apparent loss of mass. The mechanism of hydrogen non-contamination (through segregation of detonation gases) and particle growth is discussed.

Full Executive Committee

Our Full Executive Committee is made up of the Core Executive Committee, listed above, plus a number of executive members including:

International Advisory Board

We are extremely fortunate to have be able to call on the help and guidance of colleagues from around the world who help to shape and guide our direction, strategy and international reach. Our current Advisory Board members are: