We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (IMEMS)

Staff and Governance

Core Staff

The day-to-day running of IMEMS is the responsibility of the Core Executive Committee, comprising the Director and Associate Directors and the Administrator. 

Publication details for Prof. Andrew Beeby

Štefančič, Aleš, Klupp, Gyöngyi, Knaflič, Tilen, Yufit, Dmitry S., Tavčar, Gašper, Potočnik, Anton, Beeby, Andrew & Arčon, Denis (2017). Triphenylide-Based Molecular Solid—A New Candidate for a Quantum Spin-Liquid Compound. The Journal of Physical Chemistry C 121(27): 14864-14871.

Author(s) from Durham


The reduction of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons with alkali metals results in solids having intriguing magnetic properties the understanding of which has been hitherto severely hampered by the lack of single-phase samples. Here, we report on the successful reduction of triphenylene with stoichiometric amount of potassium in 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME) solution. Comprehensive diffraction measurements of the obtained K2(C18H12)2(DME) solid demonstrate the importance of cation-π interactions as responsible for the characteristic stacking of the triphenylide molecular ions. Electron paramagnetic resonance and magnetization measurements reveal K2(C18H12)2(DME) is a Mott insulator with strikingly strong nearest neighbor antiferromagnetic interactions between S = 1/2 spins of (C18H12)•– radical anions. Low dimensionality hinders long-range magnetic ordering and establishes a spin state that resembles gapped quantum spin liquid state.

Full Executive Committee

Our Full Executive Committee is made up of the Core Executive Committee, listed above, plus a number of executive members including:

International Advisory Board

We are extremely fortunate to have be able to call on the help and guidance of colleagues from around the world who help to shape and guide our direction, strategy and international reach. Our current Advisory Board members are: