We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (IMEMS)

Staff and Governance

Core Staff

The day-to-day running of IMEMS is the responsibility of the Core Executive Committee, comprising the Director and Associate Directors and the Administrator. 

Publication details for Dr Pam Graves

Graves, CP (2008). From an Archaeology of Iconoclasm to an Anthropology of the Body Images, Punishment and Personhood in England, 1500-1660. Current Anthropology 49(1): 35-57.

Author(s) from Durham


This paper argues that the iconoclastic attack on images in England in the 16th and 17th century was not random destruction. Particular parts of the body, namely the head and hands, were the focus of attack. These were the same foci upon which capital and the severest forms of corporal punishment were aimed. The paper demonstrates why both religious imagery and criminal bodies were treated in specific ways. Distinct from the theological reasons for iconoclasm, these persistent foci and forms of attack reveal something about attitudes to the body in this period, and the way in which head and hands were privileged within a cultural system. A number of the major discourses of the body which informed and reproduced this system are explored, together with the changes through which they passed in this historical period. Iconoclasm both informs, and was informed by, an understanding of the body as it was constructed throughout the later medieval and early modern periods.

Full Executive Committee

Our Full Executive Committee is made up of the Core Executive Committee, listed above, plus a number of executive members including:

International Advisory Board

We are extremely fortunate to have be able to call on the help and guidance of colleagues from around the world who help to shape and guide our direction, strategy and international reach. Our current Advisory Board members are: