We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (IMEMS)

Staff and Governance

To contact the IMEMS administrative office please use the following details:

For the Administrator (maternity cover)


T: 0191 334 6574

For the Administrative Assistant


T: 0191 334 42974


Associate Director (World Heritage): Professor Robin Coningham - view profile

Associate Director: Professor Barbara Ravelhofer - view profile

Core Staff

The day-to-day running of IMEMS is the responsibility of the Core Executive Committee, comprising the Director and Associate Directors and the Administrator. 

Directorate: Professor Stephen Taylor Director 41005
UNESCO Professor Robin Coningham Associate Director (World Heritage Site)
Professor Barbara Ravelhofer Associate Director (Research) Contact Barbara Ravelhofer
IMEMS Staff: Elizabeth Alpass Administrator (Mon-Wed) - Maternity Leave 46574 Contact Elizabeth Alpass
Mrs Jennifer Gadouleau Administrator (Thurs-Fri) - Maternity Leave 46574
Miss Fay Fradgley Administration Assistant 42974 Contact Fay Fradgley
Departmental Reps: Dr James Baldini Department Rep (Earth Sciences)
Prof. Andrew Beeby Department Rep (Chemistry)
Dr Annalisa Cipollone Departmental Rep (MLAC)
Dr John-Henry Clay Departmental Rep (History)
Dr Pam Graves Departmental Rep (Archaeology)
Dr Patrick Gray Departmental Rep (English)
Dr Susan Royal Departmental Rep (Theology)
Prof Brian Tanner Department Rep (Physics)
Dr Edmund Thomas Departmental Rep (Classics)
Dr Sara L. Uckelman Departmental Rep (Philosophy)

Full Executive Committee

Our Full Executive Committee is made up of the Core Executive Committee, listed above, plus a number of executive members including:

International Advisory Board

We are extremely fortunate to have be able to call on the help and guidance of colleagues from around the world who help to shape and guide our direction, strategy and international reach. Our current Advisory Board members are: