We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

IBRU: Centre for Borders Research

Boundary news

Boundary news Headlines

Federated States of Micronesia and United States sign maritime boundary agreement

(4 August 2014)

Representatives of the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) and the United States (US) signed a treaty on 1 August delimitating maritime boundaries between the US territory of Guam and the Caroline Islands of the FSM. Previously, the maritime boundary between the islands had overlapped. Under the new agreement, the boundary has been established to be at equal distance between the islands.

FSM Foreign Affairs Secretary Lorin Robert signed the treaty on behalf of the FSM, and noted that, “a well-defined boundary between the United States Territory of Guam and the FSM” was both “important” and “timely.” Signing on behalf of the US was Deputy Assistant Secretary of State Dennise Mathieu, who said, “this boundary treaty reflects the important bonds of friendship between our two countries and the close relations between the people of the United States of America and the people of the Federated States of Micronesia.”

The treaty will take effect after ratification by the FSM Congress. Similar treaties have been signed between the FSM and Papua New Guinea, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau.



FSM, US sign maritime boundary treaty in Palau, 4 August 2014, Marianas Variety,

 FSM and the United States sign maritime boundary treaty in Palau, 1 August 2014, FSM Updates,