We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

IBRU: Centre for Borders Research

Boundary news

Boundary news Headlines

Maritime boundary established between Costa Rica and Ecuador

(29 April 2014)

After many years of negotiation, Ecuador and Costa Rica have signed an agreement to delineate the maritime boundary between the two nations.

Since 1978 the area which stretches from Ecuador’s Galapagos Islands to Costa Rica’s Isla Del Coco has been under negotiation and after many delays an agreement between the two parties was finally reached this month.

As well as the maritime boundary with Costa Rica, Ecuador shares land boundaries with Columbia to the northeast and Peru to the south and east. The agreement with Costa Rica means that Ecuador has finally demarcated all of its land and sea borders with its neighbours.



‘Ecuador, Costa Rica sign maritime boundary deal’, 22 April 2014, Business Standard


‘Ecuador and Costa Rica establish international borders in the Pacific Ocean’, 28 April 2014, The Costa Rica News