We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Hatfield College


Every student and college staff member may belong to a group callled a 'common room'. Undergraduates belong to the Junior Common Room (JCR). As well as creating a community of members, each group has its own social space.

The JCR promotes and supports a 'Safe Drinking' policy at all College events.

Hatfield students elect an Executive Committee who serve for a year starting at Easter; they manage JCR affairs by:

  • liaising with College Officers
  • sitting on College committees
  • providing student welfare support
  • spending JCR funds
  • supporting College activities
  • running an ENTs (entertainment) programme.

Standing for office or joining one of the JCR Exec's sub-committees is rewarding and interesting as well as providing a key opportunity for personal development.

President (or 'the Senior Man') Kathryn Rogers
Welfare Officer Kelly-Ann McAulay
Vice-President (Discipline) Zhen Wei Chew
Treasurer Sam Goring
Secretary Goya Verity

Emily Ball

Events Officer Lucy Pallent
Communities Officer Rian Dhillon
Facilities Officer Jonathan Leung
Sports & Societies Officer Jemma Youngman