We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Hatfield College


The MCR is a thriving, active community that organises social events for its members, research colloquia, help with study skills. It also contributes (together with the Hatfield Trust) towards a modest amount of funding for short-term research projects.

Most MCR members live out, though some live at James Barber House, the College's self-catering postgraduate residence (about 5 minutes' walk from the main site of the College). Others are residential or non-residential College Mentors, offering non-academic pastoral support to groups of undergraduate students. College Mentors are automatically also members of the Senior Common Room (SCR).

The MCR also provides an informal subject tutoring system whereby members offer help and support to undergraduates in a range of subjects. The MCR advertise this service directly to the undergraduates.

Members of the MCR are welcome to join with the activities of other College Common Rooms. In particular, MCR members are welcome to dine on high table on Tuesdays with the SCR when there are formal meals.

MCR Executive Committee

President Abigail Steed
Academic Officer Ruaridh Ellison
Chair Linyue Huang
Events Officer Sarah Blincko
Secretary Emily Clifton
Treasurer Eleonore Vissol-Gaudin
Welfare Officer Jess Franklin