We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Hatfield College

College Trustees

The Hatfield Trust was established in 1987 when it became obvious that the financial support for the College from traditional sources would not be sufficient to meet perceived future needs. The College needed to look at alumni, members and friends to help to compensate for the shortfall in some way. The decision was taken to build up an endowment fund, the interest from which would be spent to support the College.

The Trust fund has increased steadily with the purpose of guaranteeing the future of Hatfield as a residential college rather than just a building containing students. The Trust now contributes financially towards awards, prizes, bursaries, care of records, archives, and equipment and encourages students in their work, sports, and worthwhile initiatives. Communication with alumni is important and support is given for reunions, general contact, postage and publications e.g. The Hatfield Record.

Since 1987 the day-to-day operation of the Trust had been in the hands of Mr. Arthur Moyes until his retirement in July 2002, followed by Mr. Barrie Wetton until his retirement in July 2008. On 1 August 2008, Mr. Ian Curry was appointed Mr. Wetton's successor, and he is assisted by Mrs. Cynthia Connolly. Oversight and advice is offered by the Trustees informally or at regular meetings held in College. The Charity Commissioners approved the present composition: Samantha Dowling, Jonathan Lee, Marcus Rose, Stuart Wild and Stephanie Wood and ex officio members being the Master, Senior Tutor, Bursar, College Chaplain, SCR President, Chair of College Council, President of the Hatfield Association and the Representative of the Hatfield Association on College Council.