We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Department of Earth Sciences

Academic Staff

Prof Mark Allen Professor 42344 Rm 311
Prof Andrew Aplin Head of Department, Chair of the Board of Studies, Professor 42332 Rm 328
Prof. James Baldini Professor 42334 Rm 315
Dr Richard James Brown Undergraduate Admissions Director, Associate Professor 42303 Rm 337
Prof Kevin Burton Professor of Geochemistry 44298 Rm 331
Dr Nicola De Paola Associate Professor 42333 Rm 324
Prof Jon Gluyas Ørsted/Ikon Chair in Geoenergy, Carbon Capture & Storage 42302 Rm 329
Dr Darren R. Gröcke Associate Professor (Reader) 42427 Dawson Room 129
Prof. Chris Greenwell Professor of Geochemistry 42324 Rm 1.09, Christopherson Building
Professor David Harper Professor of Palaeontology 42307 Rm 329
Professor Richard Hobbs Professor 44295 Rm 320
Professor Robert Holdsworth Professor of Structural Geology 42299 Level 2 East Wing Annex, Rm 250
Prof. Claire Horwell Professor of Geohealth 42253 Rm 248
Dr Madeleine Humphreys Associate Professor 42343 Rm 318
Dr Jennifer Jenkins Assistant Professor 43491 Rm 312
Dr Stuart Jones Associate Professor, Director of Postgraduate Admissions 42319 Rm 314
Dr Julia Knapp Assistant Professor Rm 323
Prof. Ed Llewellin Professor of Volcanology 42336 Rm 322
Prof Colin Macpherson Professor, Chair of Board of Examiners 42283 Level 2 East Wing Annex, Rm 252
Prof Ken McCaffrey Professor 42322 Level 2 East Wing Annex Rm 251
Prof Jim McElwaine Professor of Geohazards 42286 Rm 333
Dr Catriona Menzies Assistant Professor 44603 Rm 321
Prof Stefan Nielsen Professor 44308 Rm 340a
Professor Yaoling Niu Professor 42311 Rm 340
Professor Christine Peirce Professor of Marine Geophysics 42315 Rm 317 Contact Christine Peirce
Dr Julie Prytulak Associate Professor, Director of Postgraduate Studies 42328 Rm 316
Dr Christopher Saville Assistant Professor (Teaching) 42605 Rm 310
Prof. Dave Selby Chair 42294 Rm 332 Contact Dave Selby
Dr Martin Smith Assistant Professor in Palaeontology 42320 ES313
Professor Peter Talling Professor in Submarine Geohazards 42255 Geography Rm 240
Prof Jeroen van Hunen Professor 42293 Rm 325
Dr Fabian Wadsworth Associate Professor 42314 Rm 319
Dr Richard Walters Associate Professor 41727 ES327
Professor Fred Worrall Professor of Environmental Chemistry 42295 Rm 326

Emeritus Staff

Prof Gillian Foulger Emeritus Professor of Geophysics
Dr Grenville Holland Emeritus
Prof Roger Clive Searle Emeritus Professor of Geophysics 42307 Geography Annex - Rm 009
Professor M E Tucker Professor of Geological Sciences