We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Earth Sciences

Postgraduate Study

The Department of Earth Sciences is research-led, offering postgraduate research students state-of-the-art facilities in purpose built accomodation (the Arthur Holmes Building) located on the University's Science Site. Click on the links below to learn more about the PhD opportunities available and about the Department of Earth Sciences at Durham University.

The Department offers three levels of postgraduate research degrees and we welcome enquiries from suitably qualified applicants in all of these research areas:

  • PhD (3 years full-time study)
  • MPhil (2 years full-time study)
  • MSc by Research (1 year full-time study)
  • MSc by Research in Volcanology (1 year full-time study)

Part-time degree programmes are normally twice the length of the equivalent full-time programme.

Please note that the Department of Earth Sciences does not currently offer a taught Masters programme.

Fully funded MPhil and PhD projects for 2018/2019

Fully funded postgraduate positions become available regularly throughout the year, and will be posted here.

PhD Projects

MSc by Research projects for 2018/2019

We are pleased to announce an exciting and diverse range of MScR projects for entry in 2018. Applications from prospective UK, EU and international students are welcome at any time. Please contact the named supervisor on your chosen project to discuss the proposed research before you apply.

MScR Projects

MSc by Research in Volcanology (2018/2019)

We are pleased to announce the launch of our new MSc by Research in Volcanology programme. An exciting list of projects can be found on the progamme's new webpage.

Postgraduate Prospectus 2018

Interested in postgraduate study? Click to register and download our 2018 prospectus.