We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Department of Earth Sciences

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

The Earth Science EDI Committee remit is to support equality, diversity and best practice across the Department.

The membership includes representatives from all sections of the Department. The committee recognises that Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, encompassing all aspects of inequality, is fundamental to a supportive, progressive and successful Department. We aim for the Department to be an inclusive and pleasant environment, and if any member of the department feels they have been affected by an example of this not being the case, they should approach one of the members of the Diversity and Equality Committee.


Chris Greenwell


Jill Hoult

Head of Department

Andy Aplin

Learning & Teaching Manager

Janice Oakes

Undergraduate Member

Caroline Burden

Undergraduate Member

Sydney Ugochukwu

PG Member

Catriona Sellick

PG Member

Naeema Alnofeli


Tegan Allen

Postdoctoral Member

Postdoctoral Member

Academic Member

Kevin Burton

Academic Member

Matt Funnell

University Equality & Diversity Team

Louise Herron

University Equality & Diversity Team

Mark Callaghan

DSU Welfare & Liberation Officer

Meg Haskins

Faculty Rep

Beth Bromley (Physics)