We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies

East Asia: An International Quarterly

East Asia: An International Quarterly is edited by Dr. Gordon Cheung of the School of Government and International Affairs and Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies, Durham University.

East Asia: An International Quarterly examines the interplay between the politics and culture that underlies major developments in China, Japan, Korea, and the Pacific Rim. It offers a unique, transnational approach to political, economic, and cultural issues.

This international quarterly focuses on the complex and subtle influences these nations exert upon one another. East Asia: An International Quarterly examines the competition, assimilation, and tensions that shape events in the region today and for years to come.

Editorial Board


Gordon C.K. Cheung, University of Durham

Associate Editors

Liam McCarthy-Cotter, Nottingham Trent University

Leanne-Marie Cotter, Sheffield University

Advisory Board

Mark Beeson, University of Western Australia

Jean-Pierre Cabestan, Hong Kong Baptist University

William Case, City University of Hong Kong

Kent E. Calder, SAIS/Johns Hopkins University

William A. Callahan, London School of Economics and Political Science

Jae Ho Chung, Seoul National University

Christopher M. Dent, Edge Hill University

June Teufel Dreyer, University of Miami

Jane Duckett, University of Glasgow

Peng Er Lam, National University of Singapore

Julie Gilson, University of Birmingham

Edmund Terence Gomez, University of Malaya

Peter Gries, The University of Manchester

William W. Grimes, Boston University

Jurgen Haacke, London School of Economics and Political Science

Stephan Haggard, University of California, San Diego

Gary G. Hamilton, University of Washington

Patrick Hein, Meiji University

Richard Weixing Hu, University of Hong Kong

David C. Kang, University of Southern California

Victor T. King, University of Leeds

Peter H. Koehn, University of Montana

Rana Mitter, Oxford University

Chris Ogden, The University of St Andrews

Ramon Pacheco Pardo, King's College London

Minxin Pei, Claremont McKenna College

John Ravenhill, Balsillie School of International Affairs

Jonathan Rigg, National University of Singapore

Gunter Schubert, Universität Tübingen

Sergey Sevastyanov, Far Eastern Federal University

Simon Shen, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Chih-Yu Shih, National Taiwan University

Dylan Sutherland, Durham University

Jonathan Sullivan, University of Nottingham

Steve Tsang, SOAS, University of London

Ezra Vogel, Harvard University

Gungwu Wang, National University of Singapore

Hongying Wang, University of Waterloo

Andrew Wedeman, Georgia State University

Elizabeth Wishnick, Montclair State University

Guoguang Wu, University of Victoria

Yu-Shan Wu, Academia Sinica

Ren Xiao, Fudan University

Henry W. C. Yeung, National University of Singapore

Hidetaka Yoshimatsu, Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University

Feng Zhu, Peking University