We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Ceremonies Unit

Senate Advisory Panel on Ceremonies and Honorary Degrees

Senate has established an Advisory Panel to consider honorary awards and ceremonial matters as noted under section 14 of the Standing Orders of Senate

Panel Members 2019/20

The Vice-Chancellor and Warden (Chair) Professor Stuart Corbridge
The Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Antony Long
The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Colleges and Student Experience)

Mr Jeremy Cook OBE

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Alan Houston

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Colin Bain

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Global)

Professor Claire O'Malley

Nine members, three from each Faculty

Arts and Humanities

Professor Simon James (2020)

Professor Nick Saul (2022)

Professor Sarah Wootton (2022)


Professor Richard Crisp (2021)

Professor Simon Hogg (2021)

Professor Jon Trevelyan (2020)

Social Sciences and Health

Professor Roger Masterman (2022)

Professor Christine Merrell (2022)

Professor Nicole Westmarland (2022)

Durham University Business School

Dr Rataporn Deesomsak (2022)

Dr Chaudhry Ghafran (2022)

Professor Laszlo Polos (2020)

A student representative appointed by the Students' Union Ms Kate Mcintosh
Secretary to the Panel Mrs Victoria Parrish
In Attendance

Dr Michael Gilmore

Ms Claire Whitelaw

A date after a members name indicates that their current term of office will expire on 31 July in that year. Members are initially appointed for a three year period and can be reappointed for one further three year period.