We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Theology and Religion

Awards & Fellowships (Left)

Please see the information below regarding the Alan Richardson Fellowship and the William Leech Research Fellowships.

Alan Richardson Fellowship

The Alan Richardson Fellowship is awarded annually, and is endowed to promote research into the exposition and defence of Christian doctrine within the context of contemporary thought and its challenges. The Fellowship was founded in honour of the Very Reverend Alan Richardson, K.B.E., D.D., (1905-75), formerly Dean of York, Professor of Christian Theology in the University of Nottingham and Canon of Durham Cathedral.

For further information, please contact:

Claire Williams (
Department Support Officer
Department of Theology & Religion
Abbey House
Palace Green

Current Fellow

  • Professor Sam Reimer (2017/18)

Previous Fellows

  • Revd Professor Philip G. Ziegler (University of Aberdeen)
  • Revd Dr Peter Sedgwick (Cardiff University)
  • Dr Paul Shore (Brandon University, Manitoba)
  • Professor Robin Le Poidevin (Leeds)
  • Dr Christian Smith (University of Notre Dame)
  • Professor Paul Lakeland (Fairfield University)
  • Dr Ashley Null (Virginia Theological Seminary)
  • Professor Jean Porter (University of Notre Dame, Indiana)
  • Professor Paul Griffiths (Duke University)
  • Professor Ellen Charry (Princeton Theological Seminary, New Jersey)
  • Professor Nicholas Healy (St. John's University, New York)
  • Dr Douglas Hedley (Cambridge University)
  • Professor Jens Schjørring (University of Aarhus, Denmark)
  • Professor David Cunningham (Seabury-Western Theological Seminary, Illinois)
  • Professor Jan-Olav Henriksen (Norwegian Lutheran School of Theology, Oslo)
  • Professor Stephen Clark (Liverpool University)
  • Professor John de Gruchy (University of Cape Town)
  • Professor Adrian Thatcher (College of St. Mark and St. John, Plymouth)
  • Dr David Fagerberg (Concordia College, Minnesota)
  • Dr Mary Charles Murray (University of Nottingham)
  • Dr Denys Turner (Yale University)
  • Professor Lee Gibbs (Cleveland State University)
  • Professor Vincent Brümmer (University of Utrecht)

William Leech Research Fellowships

The William Leech Research Fellowships in Applied Christian Theology were established in 1988 with monies from the William Leech Foundation, a charitable trust set up in 1960 by the Newcastle builder and philanthropist Sir William Leech.

The Fellowship programme is designed to promote the application of theological reflection to issues relevant to the life of the North East of England and beyond. Past holders of fellowships have included Peter Selby, Nick Sagovsky, Robin Gill and Philip Sheldrake.

Short-Term Fellowships can be held for periods of between three and nine months.

For further details, including closing dates, see the Leech Fellowship webpage at