We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University


Energy and Sustainability Team

The University’s Energy and Sustainability Team deliver Greenspace, with the support from the ESSPG and its members, working groups, the Environment Champions and Student Reps, and other members of the University.

Senior Energy & Sustainability Manager - Simon Park

Simon is responsible for developing and implementing our sustainability strategy, policies and action plans. He works with the team to drive performance and identify ways to achieve our targets. A key priority for 2020 is certification to the Eco Campus standard for environmental management. He also ensures that we are compliant with environmental standards and legislation.

Mr Simon Park, Tel: 0191 33 46233

Sustainability Managers (Energy and Infrastructure) - Michael Harkness and Mick Corner

Michael and Mick are accredited as Low Carbon Energy Assessors, which involves producing Display Energy Certificates and carrying out energy audits for Durham University. They manage utility supplies, identifying energy savings and monitoring carbon emissions. They also managing a growing portfolio of sub-metering to provide more accurate monitoring and targeting of energy & water use in our buildings.

Mr Michael Corner, Tel: 0191 33 46018

Mr Michael Harkness, Tel: 0191 33 46276

Sustainability Manager (Travel and Biodiversity) - Yvonne Flynn

Yvonne oversees the implementation of the University's Sustainable Travel Plan and assists with other key sustainability initiatives across the University including the promotion of Biodiversity. She also leads on car parking for the University.

Ms Yvonne Flynn, Tel: 0191 33 42196

Sustainability Coordinator (Wider Student Experience) - Ninette Harris

Ninette works with the college environment reps (GSEG), student groups and the Durham Students’ Union to develop a community of passionate individuals who can help us promote sustainable living and development. She also coordinates awareness weeks around our nine Greenspace Icons, to actively engage staff and students, because ‘every small step leads to big change’.

Miss Ninette Harris, Tel: 0191 33 42648
Email: or

Other Environmental Staff within the University

Principal of Van Mildert College and Professor of Palaeontology - David Harper

Chair of the Environmental Sustainability Strategic Planning Group and Sustainable Travel Plan Steering Grou prom Academic Year 2018/19.

Tel: 0191 33 47143

Executive Director of Durham Energy Institute (DEI) and Dong/Ikon Chair in Geoenergy, Carbon Capture & Storage - Jon Gluyas

Chair of the Carbon Management Team from Academic Year 2018/19.

Tel: 0191 33 42302

Colleges Environment Champion - Jayne Dixon

Representative for all colleges and member of the Environmental Sustainability Strategic Planning Group.

Tel: 0191 33 45017


Environmental Sustainability Strategic Planning Group

The Environmental Sustainability Strategic Planning Group oversee the University's Environmental, Vision, Policy and Strategy and are an advisory body to the University Executive Committee. The Group meet twice per year to discuss environmental issues in the University. The Group reviews, on behalf of UEC, the University’s environmental policies, keeping UEC regularly informed of progress made in implementing the policies.The diverse nature of the University is well represented on this Group with membership consisting of both staff and students.