We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Earth Sciences

Header Banner: Department of Earth Sciences Research


Our expertise in Earth Sciences is spread across eight discipline-based Research Groups, which are strategically integrated into four interdisciplinary Research Themes underpinned by departmental and university equipment-based facilities. The scope and activities of research carried out under the Themes are aligned with larger interdisciplinary Research Centres and Institutes spread across Durham University



Research Themes


Theme: Climate and Environmental Change link button Theme: Geoenergy, Resources and Waste link button
Theme: Geohazards link button Theme: Solid Earth link button arrows


Research Groups menu title Environmental Research Group link button Geodynamics Research Group link button Volcanology Research Group link button Structural Geology Research Group link button Palaeoclimate Research Group link button Geochemistry Research Group link button Sedimentology Research Group link button Sedimentology Research Group link button


CeREES Durham Energy Institute Link Button Durham Geochemistry Centre Link Button Institute of Hazard, Risk and Resilience Link Button

Research Impact

Research Structure

Research Projects

Fellowships and Opportunities

Research Committee

Departmental research strategy is overseen by the Research Committee:

  • Dr. Ed Llewellin (Chair)
  • Prof. Andy Aplin
  • Dr. James Baldini
  • Prof. Bob Holdsworth
  • Dr. Jeroen van Hunen
  • Dr. Madeleine Humphreys
  • Prof. Dave Selby
  • Prof. Pete Talling
  • Mrs. Dianne Whatcott