We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Email and Telephone Directory

Staff Profile

Prof Aileen McHarg, LL.B., Ph.D.

(email at

Aileen McHarg has been Professor of Public Law and Human Rights at Durham Law School since September 2019. Prior to joining Durham she held a Chair in Public Law at Strathclyde University, and before that posts at Glasgow and Bristol Universities.

Her main teaching and research interests lie in UK and Scottish constitutional and administrative law. She publishes widely in these fields, but has particular expertise in devolution and the UK's territorial constitution. Along with Prof Roger Masterman, she is joint general editor of Public Law.

She also researches in energy law and regulation, where her publications focus on questions of energy governance and the promotion and regulation of sustainable energy. 

Professor McHarg welcomes applications for PhD supervision in both of these areas. 

Research Groups

Durham Law School

  • Human Rights Centre

Research Interests

  • Administrative law
  • Devolution and the territorial constitution
  • Energy governance
  • Sustainable energy regulation
  • UK and Scottish constitutional law

Selected Publications

Chapter in book

Journal Article

Other (Digital/Visual Media)

Show all publications

Media Contacts

Available for media contact about:

  • English Law: Constitutional Law
  • Law & Crime: Devolution
  • Government: Devolution

Indicators of Esteem

  • 2021: Joint General Editor of Public Law:
  • 2018: Co-Chair of the British-Irish Chapter of the International Society of Public Law:
  • 2018: Editorial Board Member, Public Law:
  • 2018: Member of the Scottish Government's Expert Panel on Environmental Charges and Other Measures:
  • 2016: Executive Committee Member of the UK Constitutional Law Association:
  • 2012: Member of the Law Society of Scotland's Constitutional Law Sub-Committee:
  • 2010: Editorial Advisory Board Member, Journal of Energy and Natural Resources Law:
  • 2006: Member of the Academic Advisory Group to the International Bar Association's Section on Energy, Environment Resources and Infrastructure Law: