Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Wolfson Research Institute for Health and Wellbeing

Who's Who

Wolfson Core Staff Name Contact

Executive Director of the Institute

Professor Clare Bambra PhD, FRGS, AcSS
+ 44 (0)191 334 0417
clare.bambra@durham.ac.uk

Administrator & PA to Director

Ms Suzanne Sanders

+ 44 (0)191 334 0013
Fax: + 44 (0)191 334 0409
mailto:wolfson@durham.ac.uk

Administration Assistant Jennifer Cook
+ 44 (0)191 334 0206
Research Statistician Dr Adetayo Kasim

+ 44 (0) 191 334 0364
a.s.kasim@durham.ac.uk

Research Associate & Teaching Fellow in Health Mrs Jo Cairns-Nagi
+ 44 (0) 191 334 0089

Post-Doctoral Research Associate (Quantitative Social-Science).

Dr Alison Copeland
+44 (0) 191 334 0716

Secretary (Part Time)

Jayne Kenworthy

+44 (0)191 334 0408
jayne.kenworthy@durham.ac.uk

Co-Director Tomorrow’s Healthy Adults

Dr Amanda Ellison

 +44 (0)191 334 0430

Co-Director Belief, Understanding and Wellbeing

Professor Sarah Atkinson

 +44 (0)191 334 1871

Co-Director Optimising Population Health

Professor Jan Illing

 +44 (0)191 334 8202
Wolfson Reception

Sue McMaster

+44 (0) 191 334 0699
susan.mcmaster@durham.ac.uk

Wolfson Institute contact:Research Institute Public Engagement 
and Impact Manager

 Jennifer Jeffes

 +44 (0)191 334 3211
Wolfson Institute contact: Communications Manager

 Paul Ging

 +44 (0)191 334 6413
International Advisory Board
Member

Professor Sir Peter Gluckman

Member

Sir John Arbuthnott

Member

Professor Mike Kelly

Member

Professor Marcel Tanner

Member

Professor Gareth Williams

Member

 Professor Linda Bauld

Member

 Professor Stephen Pattison

Centres, Units and Special Interest Groups

Centre for Medical Humanities

Professor Jane Macnaughton
Director CMH

+44 (0) 191 33 48164
jane.macnaughton@durham.ac.uk

Centre for the History of Medicine and Disease Professor Andreas-Holger Maehle
+44 (0) 191 33 40701
 

Centre for Integrated Health Care Research & Development

Director of CIHCR

+ 44 (0)191 334 0375
cihcr@durham.ac.uk

Centre for Public Policy & Health

Professor D Hunter
Director of Health Policy and Mangement

+ 44 (0)191 334 0362
d.j.hunter@durham.ac.uk

Centre for Ethics and Law in the Life Sciences

Professor Shaun D. Pattinson

cells@durham.ac.uk

Cognitive Neuroscience Research Unit

Dr Amanda Ellison
CNRU

+44 (0) 191 33 440430
amanda.ellison@durham.ac.uk

Evaluation Research Development Unit Professor Greg Rubin +44 191 334 0031
g.p.rubin@durham.ac.uk
Centre for Medical Education Research Professor Jan Illing
+44 191 334 8195
Critical Studies Group Professor Mark Tadajewski

Medical Anthropology Research Group

Dr Andrew Russell

+44 (0) 191 334 3312
a.j.russell@durham.ac.uk

Centre for Social Justice and Community Action

Professor Sarah Banks / Professor Rachel Pain /

socialjustice@durham.ac.uk

Qualitative Research Methods Group

s.r.brown@durham.ac.uk

Centre for Research into Violence and Abuse (CRiVA)

durham.criva@durham.ac.uk.

Obesity Related Behaviours (ORB) Research Group

Professor Carolyn Summerbell
+44 191 334 0071
Research Design Service Professor James Mason

rds@durham.ac.uk

Durham Clinical Trials Unit Rebecca Maier

dctu@durham.ac.uk

Centre for Sex, Gender and Sexualities Professor Maggie O'Neill

csgs-durham@durham.ac.uk

Geographies of Health and Wellbeing (GoHWell) Dr Christine E. Dunn 

geog.dept@durham.ac.uk

Randomised Controlled Trials Special Interest Group
+ 44 (0) 191 3348382
Smoking Interest Group

Dr Andrew Russell

+44 (0) 191 334 3312
a.j.russell@durham.ac.uk

Pain Special Interest Group Dr Paul Chazot

paul.chazot@durham.ac.uk

Belief and Health Special Interest Group Dr Ivana Petrovic

ivana.petrovic@durham.ac.uk