We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University Calendar

Board of Studies in English Studies

Ex officio Members

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Head of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities)
A Deputy Head of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Professor Elizabeth Archibald (part-time, Principal of St Cuthbert's)
Professor N Cartlidge
Professor T J A Clark (DirPgSt)
Professor P A Clemit
Professor D Herman
Professor SJ James
Professor M S C O'Neill 
Professor B Ravelhofer
Professor S Regan 
Professor C J Saunders (Chair)
Professor P Waugh 

Dr J Harding
Dr M Mack
Dr A Renfrew

Senior Lecturers
Dr D Ashurst
Dr R H F Carver
Dr M Mackay (ChEC) (DirUgSt)
Dr J Nash (ChResC)
Dr M R Sandy
Dr D M Vyleta
Dr S E Wootton (ChS/SCC)

Dr E R Barraclough
Dr P Garratt
Dr D Grausam
Dr P Gray
Dr S Grimble
Dr H O’Connell
Dr G Skinner
Dr J Smith
Dr R Sugg
Dr J Terry
Dr S Thomas

Research Fellows
Dr H Burrows
Dr C Murray
DrJ C Robinson

Appointed Members

Dr M Bernini (2014)
Dr M Botha (2015)
Dr H Burrows (2015)
Dr M Chambers (2016)
Dr J A Crane (2016)
Dr A L Green (2016) (Secretary) 
Ms M Greenhalgh (2016) (Administrator)
Dr C Murray (2015)
Dr H Powell (2014)
Dr W Viney (2016)
At least two student members of Staff/Student Consultative Committee, one undergraduate and one postgraduate:
(To be appointed)

Adviser to BA Combined Studies Students - Dr R Sugg

(DirPgSt) Director of Postgraduate Studies
(DirUgSt) Director of Undergraduate Studies
(ChResC) Chair of Research Committee
(ChEC) Chair of Education Committee
(ChS/SCC) Chair of Staff/Student Consultative Committee