We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University Calendar

Board of Studies in Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Ex officio Members

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Head of the Faculty of Science)
A Deputy Head of the Faculty of Science
Professor of Animal Cell Biology - Professor C J Hutchison (Part-time – Principal of the College of St Hild and St Bede)
Professor of Biomedical Sciences - Professor R A Quinlan
Professor of Infectious Diseases - Professor A R Walmsley
Professor of Plant Molecular Biology - Professor K Lindsey (ChResC)
Professor of Plant Molecular Cell Biology - Professor P J Hussey (Chair)
Professor of Plant Sciences - Professor A R Slabas

Professor J A Gatehouse (DirUGSt, ChEC and Deputy Head of School)
Professor A R Hoelzel (DirPgSt)
Professor B Huntley
Professor C A B Jahoda
Professor M R Knight (Deputy Head of School)
Professor S Lindsay
Professor S A Przyborski
Professor N Robinson

Dr J H Bothwell
Dr E Pohl
Dr A Sadanadom

Senior Lecturers
Dr R Baxter
Dr A Benham
Dr M J Cann
Dr P Chazot
Dr P Chivers
Dr T Fawcett
Dr M W Goldberg
Dr N Hole
Dr I Karakesisoglou
Dr M C Lucas
Dr A T Määttä
Dr S A Richards
Dr G J Sharples
Dr P A Stephens
Dr S G Willis

Dr C A Ambler (Secretary)
Dr R Bashir
Dr P N Hunt
Dr J Liu
Dr A J O’Sullivan
Dr S Pyner
Dr M Schroeder
Dr S D Twiss
Dr D Weinkove (ChS/SCC)

Appointed Members

Dr K Baker (2016)
Dr G Campling (2015)
Dr P Denny (2014)
Dr P Gates (2016)
Dr S Grellshield (2016)
Dr H Kelly (2015)
Dr H Knight (2014)
Dr C Lauren-Määttä (2015)
Mr D Mentlak (2015)
Ms S Schute (2014)
Dr P Steel (2016)
Mr J Summerill (2015)
Dr J Topping (2014) 
Dr M D Watson (2015)
Dr K Wesson (2015)
Mr E Wong (2014)
Dr P Yeo (2014)

Student Members of Staff/Student Consultative Committee

Miss L Walley (Undergraduate rep Biological Sciences)
Dr J Slavin (Post Doc rep)
Ms R Mishra (Deputy Post Doc rep)
(DirPgSt) Director of Postgraduate Studies
(DirUgSt) Director of Undergraduate Studies
(ChResC) Chair of Research Committee
(ChEC) Chair of Education Committee
(ChS/SCC) Chair of Staff/Student Consultative Committee