We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Centre for Catholic Studies


CCS Executive

Professor Paul D. Murray
BA, MLitt, Durham; PhD, Cambridge
Dean and Director of the Centre for Catholic Studies
Tel: 0191 33 43947

Dr Anna Rowlands
Deputy Director of the Centre for Catholic Studies
Lecturer in Catholic Studies
Tel: 0191 33 43968

Mrs Theresa Phillips
Administrator and PA to the Director
Tel: 0191 334 3952

Mr Tim Guinan
Development Executive, Centre for Catholic Studies
Tel: 0191 33 46470
Mob: 07771 500 808
Jane Lidstone

Ms Jane Lidstone

CCS Administrative Assistant


Tel: 0191 33 41656

CCS Members

Professor Karen Kilby
The Bede Professor of Catholic Theology

Professor Lewis Ayres
Professor of Catholic and Historical Theology

Dr Krastu Banev
Lecturer in Greek Patristics

Dr Cormac Begadon
Post Doctoral Researcher, AHRC Monks in Motion project

Professor Chris Cook
Professorial Research Fellow and Director of the Project for Spirituality, Theology and Health

Dr Stefano Cracolici
Reader in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures

Reader (High Medieval History) in the Department of History

Dr Michael Gilmore
Academic Registrar (Head of Academic Office) in the Academic Registry and Student Services

Dr Mathew Guest
Reader in the Sociology of Religion

Mr Andy Harston
Deputy Director for Development in the Development and Alumni Relations Office

Professor Chris Insole
Professor of Theological Ethics

Dr James Kelly
St Cuthbert's Society Research Fellow in Early Modern English Catholicism (1500-1800)

Professor Gerard Loughlin
Professor of Christian Theology

Dr Jonathan Miles-Watson
Senior Lecturer in the Anthropology of Religion

Professor Simon Oliver
Van Mildert Professor of Divinity

Dr Marcus Pound
Senior Lecturer in Theology

Professor Stephen Regan
Professor in the Department of English Studies

Dr Nicole Reinhardt
Director of Postgraduate Studies Taught / Senior Lecturer (Early Modern European History) in the Department of History

Professor Alec Ryrie
Professor of the History of Christianity

Canon Professor Michael Snape
Michael Ramsey Professor of Anglican Studies

Dr Hannah Thomas
Sepulchrine Research Associate in Early Modern English Catholicism

Professor Peter Ward
Professorial Fellow in Ecclesiology and Ethnography

Ms Yvonne Williams
Religious Life Vitality Research Project Co-ordinator – Centre for Catholic Studies

Honorary Visiting Faculty

Professor Celia Deane-Drummond
Professor of Theology, University of Notre Dame
Honorary Professor of Theology and Science within the CCS

Professor Eamon Duffy
Professor of the History of Christianity, and Fellow of Magalene College
Honorary Professor of the History of Catholicism, CCS

Provincial of the Marist Brothers’ Province of West Central Europe

Dr Sheridan Gilley
Emeritus Reader in Catholic History

Dr Mark Hayes
St Hilda Reader Emeritus in Catholic Social Thought and Practice

Professor Baroness Sheila Hollins
Former President of the British Medical Association
Honorary Chair in the Department of Theology and Religion

Revd Dr Peter Phillips
Diocese of Shrewsbury
Fellow in Modern Catholic Theology

Revd Michael Sharratt
Emeritus Archivist and Lecturer in Philosophy, Ushaw College

Sr Dr Gemma Simmonds
Senior Lecturer in Pastoral and Social Studies and Theology, Heythrop College, University of London

Revd Dr James Sweeney
Passionist Provincial for Ireland

Professor Maurice Whitehead
Venerable English College, Rome
Honorary Professor of Catholic History

Professor Myriam Wijlens
Professor in Canon Law, University of Erfurt
Honorary Professor of Canon Law

Dr August Zampini-Davies
CAFOD’s theological adviser; Honorary Fellow

Professor Hans Zollner
President of the Centre for Child Protection of the Pontifical Gregorian University and Director and Professor of the Institute of Psychology