We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Centre for Catholic Studies


CCS Executive

Professor Paul D. Murray
Dean and Director of the CCS and Professor of Systematic Theology
Tel: 0191 33 43947

Dr Anna Rowlands
Deputy Director of the CCS and St Hilda Associate Professor of Catholic Social Thought & Practice
Tel: 0191 33 43968

Mrs Theresa Phillips
CCS Administrator and PA to the Dean and Director
Tel: 0191 334 3952

Mr Tim Guinan
Acting Deputy Director of Development in the Durham University Development and Alumni Relations Office
Tel: 0191 33 46470
Mob: 07771 500 808

Dr Jane Lidstone

CCS Administrative Assistant

Tel: 0191 33 41656

CCS Members (Durham University)

Professor Karen Kilby
Bede Professor of Catholic Theology

Professor Lewis Ayres
Professor of Catholic and Historical Theology

Dr Krastu Banev
Assistant Professor of Theology

Dr Mary Brooks
Assistant Professor in the Department of Archaeology

Dr Jonathan Bush
Archivist, Ushaw College

Professor Chris Cook
Director of the Project for Spirituality, Theology and Health

Professor Stefano Cracolici
Professor in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures and Director of the Zurbarán Centre for Spanish and Latin American Art

Dr Maria Exall
Postdoctoral Research Associate in CSTP

Dr Helen Foxhall-Forbes
Associate Professor in Early Medieval History

Professor in High Medieval History

Dr Michael Gilmore
Academic Registrar (Head of Academic Office) in the Academic Registry and Student Services

Dr Carmody Grey
Assistant Professor of Catholic Theology

Dr Mathew Guest
Associate Professor (Reader) in the Sociology of Religion

Mr Andrew Harston
Director of the Durham University Development and Alumni Relations Office

Professor Chris Insole
Professor of Theological Ethics and Head of the Department of Theology and Religion

Dr James Kelly
Sweeting Fellow in the History of Catholicism

Professor Gerard Loughlin
Professor of Christian Theology

Dr Jonathan Miles-Watson
Associate Professor of the Anthropology of Religion

Professor Simon Oliver
Van Mildert Professor of Divinity

Dr Marcus Pound
Associate Professor of Catholic Studies

Dr Elizabeth Powell
Assistant Professor (Research): LaRetraite Fellow in Theology and Spirituality

Professor Stephen Regan
Professor of English and Director of Centre for Poetry and Poetics

Professor Nicole Reinhardt
Professor of Early Modern European History

Gregory Ryan
Assistant Professor (Research) in Receptive Ecumenism and Ecclesiology

Professor Alec Ryrie
Professor of the History of Christianity

Professor Michael Snape
Michael Ramsey Canon Professor of Anglican Studies

Professor Stephen Taylor
Professor of Early Modern British History

Revd Dr Gabrielle Thomas
Assistant Professor (Research) in Receptive Ecumenism, Women, and the UK Churches

Dr Rik Van-Nieuwenhove
Assistant Professor of Medieval Thought

Professor Peter Ward
Professorial Fellow in Ecclesiology and Ethnography

Ms Yvonne Williams
Religious Life Vitality Research Project Co-ordinator

Professor Bennett Zon
Professor in the Department of Music

Contact Us

Centre for Catholic Studies

Tel: 0191 334 1656

Follow us on Twitter @CCSDham