We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Faculty of Science

Rising Stars Research Symposium

The 2015 Rising Stars Research Symposium will take place on Monday 15 June, 2-6pm, in the Calman Learning Centre.

The Rising Stars Research Symposium, founded in 2011, is the Faculty of Science's student research conference, celebrating excellence and originality amongst the University's undergraduate scientists.

Seminars and posters are given by outstanding final-year undergraduate students from each of the schools and departments within the faculty. These usually include work undertaken as part of their final-year research project.

The event concludes with a reception hosted by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Christopher Higgins.The Bill Bryson Award for Communication in Science, will be presented at the reception, to the outstanding speaker on the day; as well as prizes for the best poster and the best presentation, as voted for by the audience.

The Rochester Prize, awarded annually to a top-performing first year student, is also presented at the event.

For enquiries contact 

Prize Winners

The Bill Bryson Award for Communication in Science

This prize is awarded to the outstanding speaker at The Rising Stars Research Symposium, as judged by the Faculty Officers. It includes copies of Seeing Further and A Brief History of Nearly Everything signed by the author, the University's former Chancellor Dr Bill Bryson OBE, who retired from this position in the year of the first symposium.


Iain Smears

Department of Mathematical Sciences

Optimal Control Problems and Hamilton-Jacobi-Bellman Equations


Robert Bettles

Department of Physics

Light-Atom Interactions in the Strong Focussing Limit


Benjamin Flint

Department of Earth Sciences

Determining the Cause of Macroalgal Mats on Seal Sands


Jason Mitchison

School of Engineering and Computing Sciences

Development of Fluidic Aerodynamic Seals

Audience Choice Award for Best Poster


Sarah Robins

School of Biological and Biomedical Sciences

New Role for the Reaction-Diffusion Model


Sophie Scott

Department of Chemistry

Applications of Graphene: The Graphene Dream


Kevin Kendaru

Department of Earth Sciences

Molecular Simulations of Low Salinity Enhanced Oil Recovery

Audience Choice Award for Best Presentation


Waheed Arshad

School of Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Bioacoustic Monitoring: Automatically Identifying Avian Biodiversity in Woodlands


Rachel Bertram

Department of Earth Sciences

Assessing and Quantifying the "Ground Air" Store of Carbon Dioxide Located in the Unsaturated Zone