We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Faculty of Science

 Faculty of Science


Schools and Departments

The Faculty of Science is made up of eight departments which are responsible for undergraduate and postgraduate teaching, and for research. The departments which constitute the Faculty are:

The Faculty is also responsible for the broad-ranging undergraduate Natural Sciences Degree Programme, which allows students to study science alongside two or more other subjects.


A list of the programmes (by department) currently taught in the Faculty is available online:

Further details of undergraduate and taught postgraduate programmes can be found on departmental websites. These departmental websites also contain details of the postgraduate research degrees offered by departments in the Faculty, and of the research carried out by members of staff within these departments.

Annual Report


The Faculty of Science office is located on Level 3 within the Chemistry Building, Lower Mountjoy.

Contact Details

Durham University,
DH1 3LE,
Telephone: +44 (0)191 334 2000

Personalised Prospectus

Create your own personalised prospectus now!