We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

QRA Postgraduate Symposium 2011

Keynote Speakers

A keynote address will take place under each of the conference themes. The line-up is as follows:

Sea-level Change

Professor Ian Shennan
Ian’s research brings together relative sea-level changes in the UK and North America, seismic hazards and global meltwater discharge since the Last Glacial Maximum. In 1997 he set up the Department of Geography’s Sea Level Research Unit. Ian has a long association with the department having completed a BSc here in 1976 and PhD in 1991.


Dr Chris Stokes
Chris is a reader in the Geography Department. His research focuses on glaciers/ice sheets and their interaction with the Earth's surface, in particular the behaviour of rapidly-flowing corridors of ice ('ice streams'). He has also been involved in a number of projects looking at glacier mass balance and response to climate change in Eurasia. He was awarded a Philip Leverhulme Prize in 2009 in recognition of his research contributions.


Dr Erin McClymont
Erin is a lecturer in Physical Geography at the University of Newcastle. Her research interests include ocean circulation and ice sheet interactions during the Pliocene-Pleistocene and mid-Pleistocene transitions, LGM-Holocene climate variability in the eastern Tropical Pacific and the use biomarkers from peat bogs as proxies for past environmental and climate change. Erin completed her PhD in the Department of Geography, Durham University in 2004.

Geoarchaeology / Landscape Evolution

Dr David Bridgland
Dave, a senior lecturer in the Department of Geography at Durham, has research interests spanning Earth Sciences and Archaeology. His particular focus on fluvial archives has taken him to a diverse range of locations, from the Thames and Trent to the Euphrates and Tigris. In 1996 Dave cofounded the Quaternary Research Association Fluvial Archives group (FLAG) and he began a two year term as president of the Geologists’ Association in May 2010. Dr B’s first word was gravel.