We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Department of Physics

Research Staff Consultative Committee

The Research Staff Consultative Committee was established in June 2018 to ensure effective dialogue between academic staff and research staff regarding the research, developmental and training experiences offered by the Department of Physics. All research staff have the opportunity to make their views on their experiences and their working environment known to the Department, through their representatives on the Consultative Committee. The spirit of the Committee is: to work to enhance the quality of the experiences provided by the Department to its research staff; to improve the working environment in the Department; to advocate the principles of the concordat to enhance the career development of researchers and advise on improvements to departmental policy and procedure which will ensure that the principles are upheld across the Department. The Department has the largest research staff community in the university and part of the role of this group is to support the development of university-wide initiatives for research staff. The Committee normally meets three time a year, typically once each term and reports to the Physics Board of Studies.

Committee Membership

Committee Co-Chairs

Dr Joshua Rogers (Research Staff Representative QLM)

Dr Matthew Townson (Research Staff Representative CfAI)

Committee Secretary

Position vacant

Research Staff Representatives Astronomy

Dr Azadeh Fattahi

Dr David Lagattuta

Dr Kyle Oman

Dr Annagrazia Puglisi

Dr Pauline Zarrouk

Research Staff Representatives Particle Physics

Dr Shankha Banerjee

Research Staff Representatives CfAI

Dr Jurgen Schmoll

Research Staff Representatives CMP

Positions vacant

Research Staff Representatives QLM

Dr Andrew MacKellar

Dr Kali Wilson

Research Staff Champion and CMP

Dr Douglas Halliday

Head of Department and IPPP

Professor Nigel Glover

Director of Research and Astronomy

Professor Chris Done

Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion and CMP

Dr Beth Bromley

Director of Education and Astronomy

Professor Tim Roberts

Director of Facilities and CMP

Professor Del Atkinson

Department Manager

Mrs Claire Davies

Academic Staff QLM

Professor Kevin Weatherill

Academic Staff CfAI

Dr Kieran O'Brien