We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Durham University News


Palatinate and College Sport Awards 2020

(16 June 2020)

It’s been another great season for Team Durham which culminated in the first ever online Palatinate and College Sports Awards. 

The awards ceremony, hosted on the Team Durham Youtube channel and compared by Head of Sport, Mark Brian and Team Durham President and College Sport Coordinator, Hannah Knowles and Polly Pearse was well thought out and a fitting tribute to a very successful but also difficult season with COVID-19 meaning some sports did not complete their seasons, whilst others didn’t even get started.


The ceremony involved all of Durham's talented and hard-working athletes being presented with Palatinates and Half-Palatinates, representing their commitment to and achievements within university sport. These awards are notoriously difficult to achieve, so all on the list should be commended for earning their colours.


Full Palatinates

Joshmyn Bong, Molly Agar, Nicole Hudson, Katharine Van Riper, Wouter Verstaaten, Louisa Bray, Natalie Konerth (Pip), Ollie Payne, Georgie Southorn, Iona Westwood, Lottie Durham, Tilly Shires, George Bourne, Oscar Lyndsay, Ben Fowles, Fitz Harding, Huw Edwards, Eduardo Zardo



Half Palatinates

Amelia Cox ,Annabel Fredericks , Anyalemma Igwe, Barnaby Halliwell, Ben Wright , Bernado Crecchi, Callum Begg, Callum Elson, Cameron Jones, Chloe Swetenham, Craig Turner, Emily Hughes, Emily Rees, Erin Kelly, Fergus Hamilton, Fiona Crackles, Fran Raymond, Gabriela Knutson, George Padolsey, Georgia Kirkham, Hannah Smith, Harry Raffan, Harvey Dinkele, Ho Chi-Wong, Isby Shelmerdine, Ivania Carballo Barrera, Jack Filer, Jacob Collin, James Holland , Josh Buys, Joshua Ryde, Kasey Jobling, Kate Carter, Laura Peacock, Luby Kirkaldi, Madeleine Wright , Megan Borthwick, Megan Pittman, Michael Lam, Mungo Russell, Nathan Wyman, Olivia Parsons, Patrick Turner, Rebecca Daniel, Rich Jackson, Roland Jones, Saskia Huxham, Scott Bowerman, Toby Woods, Tom Verniers, Will Collier, Will Piper, William Lumme, William Whipple, Zara Hughes-White

The evening culminated in the presentation of a final 10 prestigious awards; It is always difficult to choose one individual athlete/ club amongst an ever outstanding cohort but the following individuals were announced winners in their categories;


Sportsman of the year: George Bourne (Rowing)

Sportswoman of the year: Tilly Shires (Lacrosse)

Team of the year: Rugby M1s

Club of the year: Hockey

Head of Sport Award: Rebecca Ward

Contribution to Sport: Alan Seheult

College Team of the Year: Trevelyan College Women's Football Team

Club of the Year: Josephine Butler Netball Club 

Official of the Year: Harry Raffan

Contribution to College Sport: Ho Chi Wong


For anyone who didn’t manage to watch the ceremony as it was released, they you can catch up via our youtube channel or follow us on social media