Durham University

Department of Mathematical Sciences

Academic Staff

NamePositionTelephoneRoomEmailResearch Interests
Steven Abel Director of Education, Professor, Mathematical & Theoretical Particle Physics 41525 (Maths) or 43534 (Physics) CM214 s.a.abel@durham.ac.uk -
Victor Abrashkin 2H Course Director, Professor, Algebra 43056 CM327 victor.abrashkin@durham.ac.uk
  • algebraic number theory
  • arithmetical number theory
Louis Aslett Assistant Professor, Statistics 43067 CM212 louis.aslett@durham.ac.uk
  • Cryptography and Privacy in Statistics
  • Reliability Theory
  • Bayesian Statistics
  • MCMC
  • Computational Statistics and High Performance Computing
James Blowey Associate Professor (Reader), Analysis & Partial Differential Equations 43065 CM325 j.f.blowey@durham.ac.uk
  • numerical analysis
Athanasios Bouganis Associate Professor, Algebra 42547 CM126a athanasios.bouganis@durham.ac.uk
  • Algebraic Number Theory
  • Arithmetic of automorphic forms
  • Error-Correcting Codes
Peter Bowcock Associate Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43064 CM307 peter.bowcock@durham.ac.uk
  • integrable systems
  • mathematical physics
  • string theory
Mathew Bullimore Assistant Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 44162 CM236 mathew.r.bullimore@durham.ac.uk
  • Quantum Field Theory
  • Supersymmetry
  • String Theory
Dr Camila Caiado Associate Professor, Statistics 42561 CM321 c.c.d.s.caiado@durham.ac.uk
  • Bayesian Statistics
  • Parametric Inference
  • Information Theory
  • Stochastic Processes
Sunil Chhita 1H Course Director, Assistant Professor, Probability 43086 CM313 sunil.chhita@durham.ac.uk
  • Statistical mechanics and probability
Frank Coolen Director of Postgraduate Studies, Professor, Statistics 43048 CM206 frank.coolen@durham.ac.uk
  • Decision Theory
  • Imprecise Probability
  • Nonparametric Predictive Inference
  • Operations Research
  • Reliability Theory
  • Statistics
Tahani Coolen-Maturi Assistant Professor, Statistics 41746 CM114 tahani.maturi@durham.ac.uk
  • Nonparametric predictive inference
  • Nonparametric statistics
  • Modeling dependence
  • Diagnostic accuracy including ROC analysis
  • Reliability and survival analysis
  • Uncertainty quantification including imprecise probability
Peter Craig Chair Board of Examiners, Professor, Statistics 43076 CM314 p.s.craig@durham.ac.uk
  • Bayesian statistics: foundations, methodology, computation and applications
  • Uncertainty quantification
  • Ecotoxicology: statistical methods
  • Risk assessment: food safety and related environmental aspects
  • Statistical methodology: exact tests, random effects models
Stefano Cremonesi Assistant Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 44155 CM245 stefano.cremonesi@durham.ac.uk
  • Quantum Field Theory
  • String Theory
  • Algebraic Geometry
Jonathan Cumming Director of SMCU, Assistant Professor, Statistics 43124 CM306 j.a.cumming@durham.ac.uk
  • Statistics
  • Applied Statistics
  • Uncertainty Analysis
  • Statistical Computation
  • Variable Selection
Michele Del Zotto Assistant Professor, Mathematical and Theoretical Particle Physics 43073 CM222 michele.del-zotto@durham.ac.uk
  • Non-perturbative aspects of quantum field theory and string theory
  • Dualities
  • Conformal systems in various spacetime dimensions
Aristomenis Donos Associate Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 41536 CM235 aristomenis.donos@durham.ac.uk
  • String Theory
  • Holography
  • AdS/CMT
Patrick Dorey Director of Research, Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43070 CM323 p.e.dorey@durham.ac.uk
  • conformal and integrable field theories
Daniele Dorigoni 3H/4H Course Director, Assistant Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43121 CM218 daniele.dorigoni@durham.ac.uk
  • Resurgent methods in quantum field theory
Hailiang Du Assistant Professor, Statistics 43081 CM102 hailiang.du@durham.ac.uk
  • Uncertainty Quantification
  • Forecast evaluation
  • Nonlinear time series analysis
  • Data assimilation
Jochen Einbeck Associate Professor, Statistics 43125 CM226 jochen.einbeck@durham.ac.uk
  • Mixture models
  • Nonparametric regression
  • Principal curves
  • Random effect modelling
Anna Felikson Associate Professor, Algebra 44158 CM124 anna.felikson@durham.ac.uk
  • Cluster algebras
  • Coxeter groups
  • Hyperbolic geometry
  • Low-dimensional topology
Jens Funke Professor, Number Theory 43063 CM310 jens.funke@durham.ac.uk
  • Automorphic forms
  • Number Theory
Herbert Gangl Associate Professor (Reader), Number Theory 43092 CM220 herbert.gangl@durham.ac.uk
  • Polylogarithms, algebraic K-theory, multiple zeta values
Iñaki Garcia Etxebarria Assistant Professor, Mathematical and Theoretical Particle Physics 44164 CM224 inaki.garcia-etxebarria@durham.ac.uk
  • Quantum Field Theory
  • String Theory
  • Dualities
  • String Phenomenology
Nicholas Georgiou Assistant Professor, Probability 44157 CM227 nicholas.georgiou@durham.ac.uk
  • Probabilistic combinatorics and partial orders
  • Modular decomposition and its connection to the Reconstruction Conjecture
  • Random walks
Michael Goldstein Professor, Statistics 43065 CM325 michael.goldstein@durham.ac.uk
  • Bayesian Statistics
Konstantinos Gourgouliatos Assistant Professor, Magnetohydrodynamics 43108 CM122 konstantinos.gourgouliatos@durham.ac.uk
  • Magnetohydrodynamics
  • Relativistic Fluid Dynamics
  • Theoretical and Computational Astrophysics
Ruth Gregory Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43059 CM326 r.a.w.gregory@durham.ac.uk
  • general relativity and cosmology
Paul Heslop Admission Tutor, Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43105 CM247 paul.heslop@durham.ac.uk
  • supersymmetric field theory
  • scattering amplitudes
  • AdS/CFT
  • Supergravity
Ostap Hryniv Course Director Other Programmes, Associate Professor, Probability 43053 CM309 ostap.hryniv@durham.ac.uk
  • probability and stochastic processes
  • phase transitions
  • interacting particle systems
  • large deviations
John Hunton Deputy Head of Department, Professor, Topology 43080 CM318 john.hunton@durham.ac.uk
  • Algebraic Topology
  • Aperiodic Tilings
  • Topological Dynamics
Nabil Iqbal Assistant Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 44163 CM240 nabil.iqbal@durham.ac.uk
  • Holographic duality and its applications, quantum field theory, string theory
Ian Hyla Jermyn Professor, Statistics 43106 CM303 i.h.jermyn@durham.ac.uk
  • Statistical modelling of shape and geometric structure
  • Computer vision, image processing, and other applications
  • Bayesian statistics
Georgios Karagiannis Assistant Professor, Statistics 42718 CM126b georgios.karagiannis@durham.ac.uk
  • Bayesian statistics
  • Markov chain Monte Carlo methods
  • Uncertainty quantification methods
  • Calibration of Computer models / Simulators
Wilhelm Klingenberg Nat Sci Course Director, Associate Professor (Reader), Geometry 43069 CM332 wilhelm.klingenberg@durham.ac.uk
  • Complex and Symplectic Differential Geometry
  • Geometric Analysis
  • Mathematical Optics
Arthur Lipstein Royal Society Fellow, Theoretical Particle Physics 44156 CM246 arthur.lipstein@durham.ac.uk
  • Quantum Field Theory
  • String Theory
  • Scattering Amplitudes
  • AdS/CFT
Andrew Lobb Associate Professor (Reader), Topology 43055 CM324 andrew.lobb@durham.ac.uk
  • Low-dimensional topology
  • Knot theory
  • Smooth 4-manifolds
  • Categorification
Michael Magee Assistant Professor, Geometry 43096 CM108 michael.r.magee@durham.ac.uk
  • Dynamics
  • Number Theory
  • Spectral Theory
  • Word maps
Paul Mansfield Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43104 CM210 p.r.w.mansfield@durham.ac.uk
  • strings and conformal field theory
  • Yang-Mills
Mikhail Menshikov Professor, Probability 43061 CM231c mikhail.menshikov@durham.ac.uk
  • Markov chains
  • probability
Vasileios Niarchos Assistant Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 44161 CM238 vasileios.niarchos@durham.ac.uk
  • Black Hole Physics
  • Quantum Field Theory
  • String Theory
John Parker Head of Department, Professor, Geometry 43057 CM202 j.r.parker@durham.ac.uk
  • discrete groups
  • hyperbolic geometry
Kasper Peeters Assistant Professor,Theoretical Particle Physics 43113 CM311 kasper.peeters@durham.ac.uk
  • String theory and the string/gauge theory correspondence
  • Quantum gravity
  • Applications of mathematics to biology
  • Computer algebra
Norbert Peyerimhoff Professor, Geometry 43114 CM320 norbert.peyerimhoff@durham.ac.uk
  • Global Analysis
  • Graph Theory
  • Riemannian Geometry
Bernard Piette Associate Professor (Reader), Theoretical Particle Physics 43107 CM339 b.m.a.g.piette@durham.ac.uk
  • mathematical physics
  • nonlinear systems
  • The Skyrme model in 2 and 3 dimensions
  • Solitons in inhomogeneous systems
  • Electron-phonon interaction in nano-systems
Mark Powell Assistant Professor, Topology 43110 CM106 mark.a.powell@durham.ac.uk
  • Topology of manifolds
  • Knot theory
Christopher Prior Assistant Professor, Magnetohydrodynamics 43112 CM216 christopher.prior@durham.ac.uk
  • Magnetohydrodynamics
  • Topological constraints
Simon Ross DELTA Coordinator, Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43099 CM239 s.f.ross@durham.ac.uk
  • mathematical physics
  • quantum gravity
  • string theory
Anton Savostianov Temporary Lecturer, Analysis & Partial Differential Equations 43117 CM232 anton.savostianov@durham.ac.uk
  • Partial Differential Equations
  • Dynamical Systems
Dirk Schuetz Associate Professor (Reader), Topology 43089 CM315 dirk.schuetz@durham.ac.uk
  • Algebraic Topology
  • Differential Topology
Jack Shotton Assistant Professor, Algebra 43066 CM229 jack.g.shotton@durham.ac.uk
  • Number Theory
  • Representation theory
Douglas Smith Associate Professor (Reader), Theoretical Particle Physics 43120 CM237 douglas.smith@durham.ac.uk
  • String Theory
  • Supersymmetric Field Theories
Alexander Stasinski Associate Professor, Algebra 43071 CM305 alexander.stasinski@durham.ac.uk
  • Representations of finite and p-adic groups
  • Representation growth and zeta functions
  • Algebraic groups
Paul Sutcliffe Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43123 CM212a p.m.sutcliffe@durham.ac.uk
  • Mathematical Physics
  • Topological Solitons
Anne Taormina Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43059 CM326 anne.taormina@durham.ac.uk
  • String and Conformal Field Theory
  • Group Theory and Applications to Mathematical Biology
Matthias Troffaes Associate Professor (Reader), Statistics 43122 CM304 matthias.troffaes@durham.ac.uk
  • decision making
  • foundations of probability and statistics
  • uncertainty modelling
  • risk
  • severe uncertainty
  • imprecise probability
  • engineering
  • renewable energy
  • environment
Pavel Tumarkin Associate Professor, Algebra 43085 CM110 pavel.tumarkin@durham.ac.uk
  • Cluster algebras
  • Coxeter groups
  • Hyperbolic geometry
Balt van Rees Associate Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 44154 CM244 balt.van-rees@durham.ac.uk
  • String Theory
Ian Vernon Associate Professor, Statistics 43068 CM317 i.r.vernon@durham.ac.uk
  • Bayesian Statistics
  • Bayes Linear Methods
  • Uncertainty Analysis of Computer Models of Complex Physical Systems
  • Galaxy Formation Simulations
  • Systems Biology Models
  • Epidemiology HIV Models
  • Geology models of oil reservoirs
Pankaj Vishe Assistant Professor, Number Theory 43077 CM104 pankaj.vishe@durham.ac.uk
  • Analytic Number Theory, Homogeneous Dynamics
Andrew Wade Associate Professor, Probability 44151 CM302 andrew.wade@durham.ac.uk
  • probability theory
  • random structures
  • stochastic processes
Richard Ward Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43118 CM226a richard.ward@durham.ac.uk
  • mathematical physics
  • nonlinear systems
Djoko Wirosoetisno Associate Professor, Analysis & Partial Differential Equations 43115 CM322 djoko.wirosoetisno@durham.ac.uk
  • partial differential equations
  • dynamical systems
  • numerical analysis
  • fluid mechanics
Peter Wyper Royal Astronomical Society Fellow, Magnetohydrodynamics 44156 CM246 peter.f.wyper@durham.ac.uk
  • Numerical simulations of solar eruptions.
  • 3D reconnection and topology change.
Anthony Yeates Associate Professor (Reader), Magnetohydrodynamics 43075 CM308 anthony.yeates@durham.ac.uk
  • Computational modelling of the Sun's large-scale magnetic field
  • Solar dynamo models
  • Topology and reconnection of 3D magnetic fields
Marija Zamaklar Associate Professor (Reader), Theoretical Particle Physics 43111 CM312 marija.zamaklar@durham.ac.uk
  • String theory and the string/gauge theory correspondence