We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (IMEMS)

Staff and Governance

Core Staff

The day-to-day running of IMEMS is the responsibility of the Core Executive Committee, comprising the Director and Associate Directors and the Administrator. 

Publication details for Prof Brian Tanner

Pym, A. T. G., Lamperti, A., Tanner, B. K., Dimopoulos, T., Ruhrig, M. & Wecker, J. (2006). Interface sharpening in CoFeB magnetic tunnel junctions. Applied Physics Letters 88(16): 162505.

Author(s) from Durham


We report grazing incidence x-ray scattering evidence for sharpening of the interface between amorphous Co60Fe20B20 and AlOx during in situ annealing below the Co60Fe20B20 crystallization temperature. Enhancement of the interference fringe amplitude in the specular scatter and the absence of changes in the diffuse scatter indicate that the sharpening is not a reduction in topological roughness but a reduction in the width of the chemical composition profile across the interface. The temperature at which the sharpening occurs corresponds to that at which a maximum is found in the tunneling magnetoresistance of magnetic tunnel junctions.


1J. S. Moodera, L. R. Kinder, T. M. Wong, and R. Meservey, Phys. Rev.
Lett. 74, 3273 1995.
2D. D. Djayaprawira, K. Tsunekawa, M. Nagai, H. Maehara, S. Yamagata,
N. Watanabe, S. Yuasa, Y. Suzuki, and K. Ando, Appl. Phys. Lett. 86,
092502 2005.
3D. X. Wang, C. Nordman, J. M. Daughton, Z. H. Qian, and J. Fink, IEEE
Trans. Magn. 40, 2269 2004.
4J. D. R. Buchanan, T. P. Hase, B. K. Tanner, N. D. Hughes, and R. J.
Hicken, Appl. Phys. Lett. 81, 751 2002.
5N. Wiese, T. Dimopoulos, M. Rührig, J. Wecker, H. Brückl, and G. Reiss,
J. Magn. Magn. Mater. 290, 1427 2005.
6S. Cardoso, C. Cacaco, R. Ferreira, L. Peiera, M. Rickart, P. P. Freitas, N.
Franco, J. Gouveia, and N. P. Barradas, J. Appl. Phys. 97, 10C916 2005.
7T. Dimopoulos, G. Gieres, J. Wecker, N. Weise, and M. D. Sacher, J. Appl.
Phys. 96, 6382 2004.
8J. Y. Bae, W. C. Lim, H. J. Kim, T. W. Kim, and T. D. Lee, Jpn. J. Appl.
Phys., Part 1 44, 3002 2005.
9J. Y. Bae, W. C. Lim, H. J. Kim, T. W. Kim, and T. D. Lee, IEEE Trans.
Magn. 41, 2676 2005.
10F. F. Li, R. Sharif, L. X. Jiang, X. Q. Zhang, X. F. Han, Y. Wang, and Z.
Zhang, J. Appl. Phys. 98, 113710 2005.
11V. Holy, U. Pietsch, and T. Baumbach, High Resolution X-ray Scattering
from Thin Films to Lateral Nanostructures, Springer Tracts in Modern
Physics Vol. 149, 2nd ed. Springer, Berlin, 2004.

Full Executive Committee

Our Full Executive Committee is made up of the Core Executive Committee, listed above, plus a number of executive members including:

International Advisory Board

We are extremely fortunate to have be able to call on the help and guidance of colleagues from around the world who help to shape and guide our direction, strategy and international reach. Our current Advisory Board members are: