Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Institute for Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies

Members

Professor Anoush Ehteshami, BA (Hons) in Social Sciences, PhD in Politics, FAcSS, FRSA

Director
Nasser al-Mohammad al-Sabah Chair in International Relations in the School of Government and International Affairs
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 45662
Room number: IM220, Al-Qasimi Building
Special Advisor to the Islamic Crimnal Justice Project in the Centre for Criminal Law & Justice

(email at a.ehteshami@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Anoush Ehteshami


Dr Carly Beckerman, PhD (University of Birmingham)

Member
Assistant Professor in the International Relations of the Middle East in the School of Government and International Affairs
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 45666
Room number: IM215, Al-Qasimi Building

(email at carly.beckerman@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Carly Beckerman


Dr Srinjoy Bose, PhD (Australian National University)

Member
COFUND Junior Research Fellow in the School of Government and International Affairs
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 45653
Room number: SE004, Southend House

(email at srinjoy.bose@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Srinjoy Bose


Dr May Darwich, BA, MA, PhD

Member
Assistant Professor in the International Relations of the Middle East in the School of Government and International Affairs
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 45672
Room number: IM201a, Al-Qasimi Building

(email at may.darwich@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for May Darwich


Dr Christopher Davidson, BA & MA (Cambridge); MLitt & PhD (St. Andrews); FHEA

Personal web page

Member
Associate Professor (Reader) in Middle East Politics in the School of Government and International Affairs
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 45676
Room number: IM210, Al-Qasimi Building

(email at christopher.davidson@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Christopher Davidson


Professor David Held, BSc, MSc, PhD

Member
Professor of Political Science in the School of Government and International Affairs

Contact Professor David Held

Full profile for David Held


Professor Clive Jones, BA(Hons), MA, PhD (Wales)

Member
Professor of Regional Security in the School of Government and International Affairs
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 45675
Room number: IM117, Al-Qasimi Building

(email at c.a.jones@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Clive Jones


Professor Emma Murphy, BSocSci, MA, PhD(Exon)

Member
Professor of Political Economy in the School of Government and International Affairs
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 45668
Room number: IM218, Al-Qasimi Building

Contact Professor Emma Murphy (email at emma.murphy@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Emma Murphy


Dr Eva-Maria Nag

Member
Global Policy Journal Executive Editor in the School of Government and International Affairs
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 45709
Room number: IM204, Al-Qasimi Building
Deputy Director in the Global Policy Institute

Contact Dr Eva-Maria Nag

Full profile for Eva-Maria Nag


Dr Mamtimyn Sunuodula, BA, PGCert, PG Diploma, PhD (Durham), FHEA

Member
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42961
Area Studies Librarian in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures
Area Studies Librarian in the Library

Contact Dr Mamtimyn Sunuodula (email at m.a.sunuodula@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Mamtimyn Sunuodula


Professor Niv Horesh, BA (Economics) Hebrew University 1998, MA (East Asian Studies) Hebrew University 2001, PhD (East Asian Studies) ANU 2006

Visiting Research Fellow
Visiting Research Fellow in the School of Government and International Affairs

(email at niv.horesh@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Niv Horesh


Dr Yulia Egorova

Member

(email at yulia.egorova@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Yulia Egorova


Dr Stephen M. Lyon, BSc (Goldsmiths'), PhD (Kent)

Personal web page

Member
Associate Professor in the Department of Anthropology
Chair of the Board of Studies, Department of Anthropology
Head of Department, Department of Anthropology
Travel Approver, Department of Anthropology
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 41597

(email at s.m.lyon@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Stephen M. Lyon


Dr Kamal Badreshany

Member
Research Associate in the Department of Archaeology
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 41576
Room number: 112

Contact Dr Kamal Badreshany (email at kamal.badreshany@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Kamal Badreshany


UNESCO Professor Robin Coningham, BA, PhD (Cantab.)

Personal web page

Member
Professor in the Department of Archaeology
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 41145
Room number: 229
Associate Director (World Heritage Site) in the Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies

(email at r.a.e.coningham@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Robin Coningham


Dr Derek Kennet, BA PhD FSA

Member
Senior Lecturer in the Department of Archaeology
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 41135

(email at derek.kennet@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Derek Kennet


Dr Dan Lawrence

Personal web page

Member
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 41170
Room number: 304

(email at dan.lawrence@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Dan Lawrence


Prof Anna Leone, PhD

Member
Professor in the Department of Archaeology
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 41140
Room number: 211

Contact Prof Anna Leone (email at anna.leone@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Anna Leone


Professor Graham Philip, MA, PhD

Member
Professor in the Department of Archaeology
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 41142
Room number: 234

Contact Professor Graham Philip (email at graham.philip@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Graham Philip


Dr Penny Wilson, BA PhD

Member
Senior Lecturer in the Department of Archaeology
Travel Approver, Department of Archaeology
Travel Reporter, Department of Archaeology

(email at penelope.wilson@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Penny Wilson


Professor Omneya Abdelsalam, FHEA, BSc, MSc, PhD

Member
Professor of Accounting & Islamic Finance in the Business School
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 46345
Fax: +44 (0) 191 33 45201
Room number: MHL - 352

(email at o.h.abdelsalam@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Omneya Abdelsalam


Professor Habib Ahmed, MA Economics (Chittagong, Bangladesh), MEcon (Oslo, Norway), PhD (Connecticut, USA)

Member
Sharjah Chair in Islamic Law and Finance in the Business School
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 45114
Fax: +44 (0) 191 33 45201
Room number: MHL 381

(email at habib.ahmed@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Habib Ahmed


Professor Mehmet Asutay, BA, MSc, PgDip, MA, PhD

Member
Professor of Middle Eastern and Islamic Political Economy & Finance. Director, MSc Islamic Finance Programme. Director, Durham Centre for Islamic Economics and Finance. in the Business School
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 47179
Fax: +44 (0) 191 33 45201
Room number: MHL 378

(email at mehmet.asutay@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Mehmet Asutay


Professor Muhammed-Shahid Ebrahim

Member
Professor of Islamic Finance in the Business School
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 45405
Fax: +44 (0) 191 33 45201
Room number: MHL 380

Contact Professor Muhammed-Shahid Ebrahim (email at m.s.ebrahim@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Muhammed-Shahid Ebrahim


Professor Louise Amoore, BA (Hons), MA, PhD

Member
Professor in the Department of Geography
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 41969
Fax: +44 (0) 191 33 41801
Room number: 402

Contact Professor Louise Amoore (email at louise.amoore@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Louise Amoore


Dr Christopher Harker

Member
Assistant Professor, Economy and Culture
Assistant Professor, Politics-State-Space
Assistant Professor, Urban Worlds

Contact Dr Christopher Harker (email at christopher.harker@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Christopher Harker


Dr Noam Leshem

Member
Assistant Professor in the Department of Geography
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 41911
Fax: +44 (0) 191 33 41801
Room number: 230
Assistant Professor / Cluster Convenor, Politics-State-Space
Assistant Professor, Urban Worlds

Contact Dr Noam Leshem (email at noam.leshem@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Noam Leshem


Dr Christine Woodhead

Member
Honorary Fellow (Ottoman History) in the Department of History
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 41074

Contact Dr Christine Woodhead (email at c.m.woodhead@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Christine Woodhead


Dr Alex Bellem, BA (Man), MA, PhD (London)

Personal web page

Member
Assistant Professor in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 43438
Room number: A45, Elvet Riverside I

Contact Dr Alex Bellem (email at alex.bellem@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Alex Bellem


Dr Abir Hamdar, MA English Literature (American University of Beirut), PhD Languages and Cultures of the Near and ME (SOAS-University of London)

Member
Associate Professor (Reader) in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 43034
Room number: A54, Elvet Riverside I

Contact Dr Abir Hamdar (email at abir.hamdar@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Abir Hamdar


Ms Salima Jaljule, BA English literature and Education and Curriculum Planning MA Translation and Interpreting

Member
Assistant Professor (Teaching) in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 43454
Room number: A53, Elvet Riverside I

Contact Ms Salima Jaljule (email at salima.jaljule@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Salima Jaljule


Dr Niveen Kassem

Member

Contact Dr Niveen Kassem

Full profile for Niveen Kassem


Professor Daniel Newman, PhD London

Personal web page

Member
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 43412
Room number: A8, Elvet Riverside I
Special Advisor to the Islamic Criminal Justice Project in the Centre for Criminal Law & Justice

Contact Professor Daniel Newman (email at daniel.newman@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Daniel Newman


Professor Paul Starkey, MA, DPhil Oxon

Member
Emeritus Professor in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures
Room number: ER212, Elvet Riverside II
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 45667

(email at p.g.starkey@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Paul Starkey


Dr Aziza Zaher, PhD

Member
Assistant Professor (Teaching) in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 43463
Fax: +44 (0) 191 33 43421
Room number: A36, Elvet Riverside I

Contact Dr Aziza Zaher (email at aziza.zaher@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Aziza Zaher