We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Institute of Advanced Study

2017/18 Fellowship Announced

(8 December 2016)

The IAS is delighted to confirm its visiting Fellowship for the academic year 2017/18 and its theme of Structure.

Two cohorts of ten Fellows will reside at the IAS for a term during 2017/18 and engage and collaborae with colleagues on a number of different interdisciplinary projects connected to the Structure thematic year. 

October - December 2017

Professor Anthony Aroney, University of Queensland, Australia

Professor Dennis Beach, Gothenburg University, Sweden

Dr Jörg Kreienbrock, Northwestern University, USA

Dr Wahbie Long, University of Cape Town, South Africa

Dr Andy Martin, University of Melbourne, Australia

Dr Tom Murray, Macquarie University, Australia

Professor Tiziana de Rogatis, Universita per Stranieri die Siena, Italy

Professor Christian Ruby, University of Lorraine, France

Professor William Thompson, Macquarie University, Australia

Dr Kathryn Yusoff, Queen Mary University of London

January - March 2018

Dr Michael Chapman, University of Newcastle, Australia

Dr Francesca Fulminante, University of Rome Tre, Italy

Professor Bruce Malomed, Tel Aviv University, Israel

Dr Pascal Nicklas, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany

Professor Vasilis Politis, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Professor Sverre Raffnsøe, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark

Professor Nigel Rapport, University of St Andrews

Professor Barbara Risman, University of Illinois, USA

Professor Thomas Vogt, University of South Carolina, USA

Professor Robert Wood, University of New South Wales, Australia

Durham colleagues are encouraged to engage actively with the IAS Fellows, with a view to exchanging ideas and developing internationally collaborative research. The IAS is keen for Durham scholars to make the most of these opportunities to widen their professional networks and engage directly with our internationally acclaimed Fellows.

Any questions in relation to the Fellowship or how to make contact should be directed to Linda Crowe