We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Human Resources & Organisational Development

Realising your Potential Approach


Each behaviour has been divided into 5 levels:

1. Expected behaviours to be demonstrated by all members of staff whatever the working situation - Grades 1-2/Core

2. Expected behaviours to be demonstrated when working alongside others - Grades 3-4

3. Expected behaviours to be demonstrated when influencing at team level - Grades 5-6

4. Expected behaviours to be demonstrated when influencing at departmental level - Grades 7-8

5. Expected behaviours to be demonstrated when influencing at University level or when representing the University - Grades 9-10

Flexibility of interpretation

These five levels are to be used by both managers and staff as a guidance tool that details the expected behaviours required for specific grades.

However, they are not exclusive, hence the dotted lines between levels in the tables that follow. For example, a grade 4 member of staff may be expected to demonstrate behaviours at level 2 and due to the requirements of their job role they may also be required to demonstrate certain behaviours at a higher level.

This framework aims to assist with personal development and your ability to perform the requirements of your role. This approach cannot be used in isolation to determine the job and grade.

The approach looks at 9 different aspects of behaviour which are grouped within 4 clusters. Each aspect is then linked to grades from 1-10 and apply to all administration and support staff within Professional Support Services. The Colleges and the Academic Faculties.

For more information about each behaviour please click on the relevant title below.

Engaged Individuals


Collaborative Teamwork

Excellent Standards

World Class University