We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University


Arriva £1 Day Tickets

Travel within the Arriva Durham District Zone for £1 per day!

The ticket allows travel on any Arriva bus service within the Durham District Zone any time of the day (so you can use the same ticket for different Arriva services throughout the day) with no limit on the number of times the ticket can be used per day. Staff and students can benefit by travelling into Durham from several areas, including Pity Me, Newton Hall, Framwellgate Moor, Sherburn Village, Merryoaks Broom Park, and Bearpark, to name but a few.

Ticket Options

Day Weekly
Durham University £1.00 £5.00 Buy now

Please note that a valid Durham University ID card is required to be shown to the driver to purchase and/or use, along with the ticket, for each journey undertaken. £1.00 day ticket is only available on bus.

Daily and Weekly tickets can be purchased on the bus, either with cash or contactless cards as well as being purchased online or via the Arriva mobile app. Please note that termly and full academic year tickets are not currently available to purchase (at 13.9.22). Further details will be made available shortly.

Boundary Points

The boundary points are all noted on the map, but for ease of reference, here’s the list below of the main ones: the table below sets out the bus services, routes and boundary points for the Durham District zone travelling, include details for the routes wholly within the Durham District Zone.

Service Route Durham District Boundary
1 & 6 Darlington – Redworth - Bishop Auckland
Cockfield – Bishop Auckland - Durham
Redworth Hall Hotel is boundary in Durham District Zone & Service 6 from Bishop Auckland Bus Station is in Durham District Zone
6 Durham – Bishop Auckland – Cockfield West Auckland, Copeland Road
7 Durham – Newton Aycliffe – Darlington Rushyford, Eden Arms
22 Durham – Peterlee – Sunderland Wheatley Hill, Office Street
24 Durham – Peterlee – Hartlepool Ludworth (any stop)
43 Durham – Esh Winning Full route in Durham District zone
48 Durham – New Brancepeth Full route in Durham District zone
49, 49A Durham – Brandon Full route in Durham District zone
56 Durham – Coxhoe – Bishop Auckland Full route in Durham District zone
57 Durham – Coxhoe – Kelloe Full route in Durham District zone
57A Durham – Coxhoe – Hartlepool Deaf Hill, Nattrass Terrace
61 Durham – Whitesmocks Full route in Durham District zone
62 Durham – Adventure Valley Full route in Durham District zone
64 Arnison Centre – Durham – Sherburn Full route in Durham District zone
86 & 6 Trimdon Village - Toft Hill
Cockfield – Bishop Auckland - Durham
Toft Hill Village is boundary in Durham District Zone & Service 6 from Bishop Auckland Bus Station is in Durham District Zone
ED1 Houghall College – Stanley – Burnopfield Sacriston (any stop)
ED3 Houghall College – East Durham College A181, Smithy Farm
X12 Middlesbrough – Durham – Newcastle Sedgefield Green to the south. Full route north to Newcastle is in the Durham District zone
X24 Durham – Peterlee – Horden Ludworth Stile
X46 Durham – Crook – Stanhope Tow Law, Inkerman

(information correct at 12 September 2019)

Direct Links to Boundary Points from outside the Durham District Zone

Details are also available listing all major places that have a direct link with Durham but fall outside of the Durham District Zone. In each case, the cheapest available single and return fares to the Durham District boundary have been listed.
Staff travelling in from Newcastle (or between Newcastle and Barley Mow) more than one or two days a week are advised to consider purchasing the X12 weekly Routesaver ticket (£13.50 p/w, £5 p/d or £485 for the year if purchased via corporate discount scheme) as this is a more economical option.