We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of English Studies


Academic Staff

Prof Elizabeth Archibald Professor (p/t)
Dr David Ashurst Associate Professor
Dr Paul Batchelor Associate Professor
Dr Marco Bernini Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Ivana Bicak Co-Fund Junior Research Fellow
Dr Marc Botha Assistant Professor
Dr Venetia Bridges Assistant Professor
Dr Thomas Bristow Junior Research Fellow
Professor Neil Cartlidge Professor
Dr Robert Carver Associate Professor
Dr Mark Campbell Chambers Research Associate
Professor Timothy Clark Professor
Ms Sophie Collins Assistant Professor
Dr Julie Crane Assistant Professor (Teaching)
Dr Daniel Derrin Teaching Fellow
Professor David Fuller Professor (Emeritus)
Dr Peter Garratt Associate Professor
Dr Abbie Garrington Associate Professor
Dr Daniel Grausam Associate Professor
Dr Patrick Gray Assistant Professor
Dr Mandy Green Associate Professor
Dr Simon Grimble Assistant Professor
Professor Jason Harding Professor
Professor Claire Harman Professor in Creative Writing
Dr Michael Huxtable Teaching Fellow
Professor Simon James Professor
Dr Roisin Laing Leverhulme Early Career Fellow
Dr Michael Mack Associate Professor
Professor Jane Macnaughton Research Associate
Professor John McKinnell Emeritus Professor
Dr Katie Muth Teaching Fellow
Dr John Nash Associate Professor (Reader)
Dr Helen O'Connell Associate Professor
Professor Michael O'Neill Professor
Dr Hilary Powell Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Professor Barbara Ravelhofer Professor
Professor Stephen Regan Professor
Professor Alastair Renfrew Head of Department and Chair of Board of Studies
Professor Alastair Renfrew Chair of Board of Studies
Dr Samuel Riviere Assistant Professor
Professor Fiona Robertson Professor of Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century Literature
Dr James Robinson Teaching Fellow
Dr Arthur Rose Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Life of Breath Project
Professor Mark Sandy Professor
Professor Corinne Saunders Professor
Dr Yasmine Shamma Research Fellow
Dr Barry Sheils Assistant Professor
Dr Gillian Skinner Assistant Professor
Dr James Smith Associate Professor (Reader)
Dr Jennifer Terry Associate Professor
Dr Samuel Thomas Assistant Professor
Professor Claire Warwick Professor
Professor Patricia Waugh Professor
Dr Angela Woods Associate Professor of Medical Humanities
Dr Sarah Wootton Associate Professor
Dr Diana Wyatt Research Associate (p/t)

Support Staff

Mrs Melanie Allchurch Assessment Co-ordinator 42710
Miss Laura Collin Administration Assistant 42576
Miss Rebecca Doggwiler Communications Assistant, Hearing the Voice 48144 Contact Rebecca Doggwiler
Mrs Jacqueline Ford Finance Officer (Part time) 41983 Contact Jacqueline Ford
Mrs Pauline Harrison Project Assistant, Hearing the Voice 48163
Mrs Deborah Hobbs Department Manager 42581
Miss Sarah Lane Postgraduate Co-ordinator 44165
Mrs Rachel Middleton Project Coordinator (Job share), Hearing the Voice 48405
Mrs Marie Morris Administration Team Leader 42500
Dr Victoria Patton Communications, Impact and Engagement Lead, Hearing the Voice 48167
Ms Mary Robson Creative Facilitator, Hearing the Voice 48144 Contact Mary Robson
Mrs Nicola Wilson Austin Undergraduate Co-Ordinator 42571