Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Earth Sciences

Staff and Postgraduate Students

Prof Simon Mathias

(email at s.a.mathias@durham.ac.uk)

Biography

2017 – to date Professor of Computational Geoscience, Durham University.

2017 – to date Senior Fellow of The Higher Education Academy.

2011 – 2017 — Reader in Computational Geoscience, Durham University.

2009 – 2011 — Lecturer in Geoscience, Durham University.

2007 – 2009 — WorleyParsons Lecturer of Environmental Engineering, Imperial College London.

2003 – 2007 — Research Fellow, Imperial College London.

2001 – 2005 — PhD in Hydrology, Imperial College London.

2000 – 2003 — Civil Engineer, Royal Haskoning.

1999 – 2000 — MSc in Water Resources Technology and Management, University of Birmingham.

1995 – 1999 — MEng in Civil Engineering, University College London

Editorships

Associate Editor for Transport in Porous Media

Associate Editor for Hydrogeology Journal

Associate Editor for Journal of Hydrology

Research Groups

Department of Earth Sciences

Teaching Areas

  • GEOL1051: Field Studies

    (56 hours/year.)
  • GEOL1081: Further Mathematics in Geosciences

    (30 hours/year.)
  • GEOL2171: Water and Climate

    (30 hours/year.)
  • GEOL3281: Environmental Management

    (92 hours/year.)
  • GEOL3291: Hydrogeology and Geomechanics (18 hours/year.)

Supervises

Selected Publications

Journal Article

Show all publications

Departmental Contacts

RoleNameExtemail address
Head of Department Professor Andy Aplin 42332 a.c.aplin@durham.ac.uk
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor Dr Richard J Brown 42303 richard.brown3@durham.ac.uk
Deputy Undergraduate Admissions Tutor Prof. Fred Worrall 42295 fred.worrall@durham.ac.uk
Chairman of the Board of Examiners Professor Ken McCaffrey 42299
Postgraduate Admissions Tutor Dr. Stuart Jones 42319 stuart.jones@durham.ac.uk
Department Manager Mrs Jill Hoult 42326 j.l.hoult@durham.ac.uk
Learning & Teaching Administrator Mrs Janice Oakes 42310 janice.oakes@durham.ac.uk
Senior Finance Assistant Mrs Paula Elliott 43490
Finance Administrator Mrs Karen Atkinson 42318
Director of Postgraduate Studies Dr. Jeroen van Hunen 42293 jeroen.van-hunen@durham.ac.uk
Director of Research Dr Ed Llewellin 42336 ed.llewellin@durham.ac.uk
Teaching and Learning Committee Chairman Dr Simon Mathias 43491 s.a.mathias@durham.ac.uk
Director of Undergraduate Studies Dr Claire Horwell 42253 claire.horwell@durham.ac.uk
Staff-Student Liaison Committee Chairman Dr Claire Horwell 42253 claire.horwell@durham.ac.uk
Natural Sciences Academic Contact Prof. Yaoling Niu 42311
Safety Officer Dr Chris Ottley 42325
Safety Adviser Fieldwork Dr Nic de Paola 42333 nicola.de-paola@durham.ac.uk
Departmental Research Administrator Mrs Dianne Whatcott 42305

dianne.whatcott@durham.ac.uk

Departmental Superintendent Mr James Dyson 42281

james.dyson@durham.ac.uk