Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Email and Telephone Directory

Department of Earth Sciences

SectionNamePositionTelephoneFaxEmail
  Fax Number 42301
Academic Staff: Prof Mark Allen Head of Department, Chair of the Board of Studies, Professor 42344 m.b.allen@durham.ac.uk
Prof Andrew Aplin Professor 42332 a.c.aplin@durham.ac.uk
Prof. James Baldini Professor 42334 james.baldini@durham.ac.uk
Dr Richard James Brown Undergraduate Admissions Director, Associate Professor 42303 richard.brown3@durham.ac.uk
Prof Kevin Burton Professor of Geochemistry 44298 kevin.burton@durham.ac.uk
Prof Nicola De Paola Professor of Structural Geology and Rock Mechanics 42333 nicola.de-paola@durham.ac.uk
Prof Jon Gluyas Ørsted/Ikon Chair in Geoenergy, Carbon Capture & Storage 42302 j.g.gluyas@durham.ac.uk
Dr Darren R. Gröcke Associate Professor (Reader) 42427 d.r.grocke@durham.ac.uk
Prof. Chris Greenwell Professor of Geochemistry 42324 chris.greenwell@durham.ac.uk
Professor Robert Holdsworth Professor of Structural Geology 42299 r.e.holdsworth@durham.ac.uk
Prof. Claire Horwell Professor of Geohealth 42253 claire.horwell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Madeleine Humphreys Associate Professor 42343 madeleine.humphreys@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jenny Jenkins Assistant Professor 43491 jennifer.jenkins@durham.ac.uk
Dr Stuart Jones Associate Professor, Director of Postgraduate Admissions 42319 stuart.jones@durham.ac.uk
Dr Julia Knapp Assistant Professor julia.l.knapp@durham.ac.uk
Prof. Ed Llewellin Professor of Volcanology 42336 ed.llewellin@durham.ac.uk
Prof Colin Macpherson Professor, Chair of Board of Examiners 42283 colin.macpherson@durham.ac.uk
Prof Ken McCaffrey Professor 42322 k.j.w.mccaffrey@durham.ac.uk
Prof Jim McElwaine Professor of Geohazards 42286 james.mcelwaine@durham.ac.uk
Dr Catriona Menzies Assistant Professor 44603 catriona.d.menzies@durham.ac.uk
Prof Stefan Nielsen Professor 44308 stefan.nielsen@durham.ac.uk
Professor Yaoling Niu Professor 42311 yaoling.niu@durham.ac.uk
Professor Christine Peirce Professor of Marine Geophysics 42315
Dr Julie Prytulak Associate Professor, Director of Postgraduate Studies 42328 julie.prytulak@durham.ac.uk
Dr Christopher Saville Assistant Professor (Teaching) 42605 christopher.saville@durham.ac.uk
Prof. Dave Selby Chair 42294
Dr Martin Smith Associate Professor in Palaeontology 42320 martin.smith@durham.ac.uk
Professor Peter Talling Professor in Submarine Geohazards 42255 41801 peter.j.talling@durham.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Valentine Assistant Professor andrew.valentine@durham.ac.uk
Prof Jeroen van Hunen Professor 42293 jeroen.van-hunen@durham.ac.uk
Dr Fabian Wadsworth Associate Professor 42314 fabian.b.wadsworth@durham.ac.uk
Dr Richard Walters Associate Professor 41727 richard.walters@durham.ac.uk
Professor Fred Worrall Professor of Environmental Chemistry 42295 fred.worrall@durham.ac.uk
Research Staff: Mr Fernando Andreu Research Computing Platforms Engineer 42342 fernando.andreu@durham.ac.uk
Dr Matthieu Cartigny Independent Research Fellow 41855 41801 matthieu.j.cartigny@durham.ac.uk
Dr Melissa Drignon Postdoctoral Research Associate 42356 melissa.drignon@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alexander Iveson Leverhulme Trust Early Career Research Fellow 42356 alexander.a.iveson@durham.ac.uk
Dr Theresa Jezierski GED Research Fellow Contact Theresa Jezierski
Dr. Charline Lormand Postdoctoral Research Associate 42347 charline.lormand@durham.ac.uk
Dr Martin Mangler Postdoctoral Research Associate 42347 martin.mangler@durham.ac.uk
Dr Geoff Nowell Senior Research Officer 42339 g.m.nowell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Chris Ottley Senior Research Officer 42325 c.j.ottley@durham.ac.uk
Dr. Stephen Pansino Royal Society Newton International Fellow stephen.g.pansino@durham.ac.uk
Mr Gary Wilkinson Petroleum Geology Experimental Officer 42297
Technical Staff and Experimental Officers: Mr Ben Pitcairn Experimental Officer in Seabed Instrumentation 42313 ben.pitcairn@durham.ac.uk
Emeritus Staff: Prof Gillian Foulger Emeritus Professor of Geophysics Contact Gillian Foulger
Professor David Harper Emeritus Professor of Palaeontology david.harper@durham.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor Richard Hobbs Emeritus Professor 44295 r.w.hobbs@durham.ac.uk
Dr Grenville Holland Emeritus j.g.holland@durham.ac.uk
Prof Roger Clive Searle Emeritus Professor of Geophysics 42307 r.c.searle@durham.ac.uk
Professor M E Tucker Emeritus Professor of Geological Sciences m.e.tucker@durham.ac.uk
Honorary Staff: Professor Tony Dore Honorary Professor
Prof John Grocott Honorary Professor Contact John Grocott
Dr Bruce Julian Honorary Research Fellow Contact Bruce Julian
Professor Mark Noel Honorary Professor rockside@manx.net
Professor Michael O’Hara Honorary Professor
Dr Iain Scotchman Honorary Lecturership isco@statoil.com
Dr Tom Shepherd Honorary Research Fellow
Prof. Simon Stewart Honorary Professor Simon.Stewart@pet.hw.ac.uk
Mr Mark Stone Honorary Senior Lecturer Mark.Stone@bg-group.com
Professor Richard Swarbrick Honorary Professor swarbrick@geopressureconsult.com
Dr. Charlotte Vye-Brown Honorary Research Fellow cvye@bgs.ac.uk
Mr Brian Young Honorary Research Fellow
Visitors: Dr Xin Dong Senior Scientist from Chinese Academy of Geological Sciences 42311 Contact Xin Dong
Dr Yang Yan Senior Engineer - Development and Research Centre, China Geological Survey in Beijing Contact Yang Yan
Administrative Staff: Mrs Karen Atkinson Finance Manager Travel Reporter and Travel Approver 42318 k.l.atkinson@durham.ac.uk
Miss Louise Bowron Postgraduate Coordinator 42198 Contact Louise Bowron
Mrs Paula Elliott Finance Administrator 43490 42301 paula.elliott@durham.ac.uk
Miss Holly Gardner Learning & Teaching Administrator 42573 holly.gardner@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Jill Hoult Department Manager 42326 j.l.hoult@durham.ac.uk
Miss Kendra Johnson Finance Administrator (p/t Thurs-Fri) 44294 kendra.a.johnson@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Janice Oakes Learning & Teaching Manager 42310 janice.oakes@durham.ac.uk
Ms Sarah Richardson Operations Administrator 41710 Contact Sarah Richardson
Miss Emma Rusby Postgraduate Coordinator 42198 emma.rusby@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Sandra Rust Learning & Teaching Administrator Contact Sandra Rust
Mrs Dianne Whatcott Senior Research Administrator 42305 +44 (0) 191 3342301 Contact Dianne Whatcott
Technical Staff: Miss Anna Bird Experimental Officer in Marine Instrumentation 42313 Contact Anna Bird
Mr Ian Chaplin Thin Section Technician 42327 Contact Ian Chaplin
Mr Andrew Clegg Experimental Officer in Marine Instrumentation 42313 Contact Andrew Clegg
Miss Sophie Edwards Trainee Thin Section Technician 42327 sophie.a.edwards@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alex Gonzales-Nakazawa Experimental Officer in Seabed Instrumentation 42313 a.g.nakazawa@durham.ac.uk
Ms Joanne Peterkin Res. Lab. Technican 42304 j.l.peterkin@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Samantha Thorpe Geoscience Apprentice Technician 42304 Contact Samantha Thorpe
Other: Mrs Linda Campbell Science Outreach & Earth Science Alumni Officer 42331 linda.campbell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Paula Street (née Martin) Science Outreach Coordinator 42338 paula.street@durham.ac.uk
Research Student: Miss Naeema Al Nofeli PhD naeema.k.alnofeli2@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Sultan Alhasawi PhD sultan.m.alhasawi@durham.ac.uk
Miss Ceri Allgood PhD ceri.allgood@durham.ac.uk
Mr Timothy Armitage PhD timothy.b.armitage@durham.ac.uk
Mr Oluwafemi Aro PhD oluwafemi.e.aro@durham.ac.uk
Miss Imogen Bailes MScR imogen.r.bailes@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Aimee Barroso PhD aimee.g.barroso@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Sam Bithell PhD sam.t.bithell@durham.ac.uk
Miss Eloise Bretagne PhD eloise.bretagne@durham.ac.uk
Mr Joshua Brown PhD joshua.r.brown@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Erika Calderon-medina PhD erika.e.calderon-medina@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Ugurcan Cetiner PhD ugurcan.cetiner@durham.ac.uk
Ms Natasha Chapplow PhD natasha.chapplow@durham.ac.uk
Mr Dimitrios Charlaftis PhD dimitrios.charlaftis@durham.ac.uk
Miss Ipshita Chatterji MScR ipshita.chatterji@durham.ac.uk
Miss Raquel Chun PhD Contact Raquel Chun
Mr Sudirman Dawing PhD sudirman.b.dawing@durham.ac.uk
Mr Fadul Dawood Rock Mechanics Lab Technician (also PhD student) Contact Fadul Dawood
Mr. Alavya Dhungana PhD alavya.dhungana@durham.ac.uk
Mr Robert (Bob) Elliott PhD r.g.elliott@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Hector Escamilla-garcia PhD Contact Hector Escamilla-garcia
Miss Annabelle Foster PhD annabelle.foster@durham.ac.uk
Mr Maximilian Franzel PhD maximilian.franzel@durham.ac.uk
Mr Malte Froemchen PhD malte.froemchen@durham.ac.uk
Miss Janina Gillies PhD janina.gillies@durham.ac.uk
Miss Katharine Groves PhD katharine.groves@durham.ac.uk
Mr Mohammad Hamidi PhD Contact Mohammad Hamidi
Miss Francesca Haywood MScR francesca.l.haywood@durham.ac.uk
Miss Lucy Jackson MScR lucy.e.jackson@durham.ac.uk
Miss Honor James MScR honor.e.james@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Alexander Jefferies MScR alexander.jefferies2@durham.ac.uk
Daniel Jones PhD daniel.jones@durham.ac.uk
Miss Shubhangi Khobragade PhD shubhangi.khobragade@durham.ac.uk
Mr Akos Kiss PhD akos.kiss@durham.ac.uk
Mr Karl Kraavi MScR karl.e.kraavi@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Thomas Lark PhD Contact Thomas Lark
Miss Amy Le MScR amy.le@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jack Lee PhD Contact Jack Lee
Mr. Chung Leung MScR chung.y.leung@durham.ac.uk
Miss Ariane Loisel PhD Contact Ariane Loisel
Mr Joel Lozano PhD Contact Joel Lozano
Mr Joshua Marsh MScR joshua.marsh@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Zak Milner PhD zak.milner2@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Ernest Mulaya PhD Contact Ernest Mulaya
Miss Nadia Narayan PhD Contact Nadia Narayan
Miss Chimaobi Nwachukwu PhD c.m.nwachukwu@durham.ac.uk
Miss Emma Ownsworth PhD e.m.ownsworth@durham.ac.uk
Miss Sophie Page PhD sophie.e.page@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Laksmi Rachmawati PhD Contact Laksmi Rachmawati
Miss Rahmawati Rahayu PhD Contact Rahmawati Rahayu
Miss Rebecca Robertson PhD rebecca.v.robertson@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Sean Ruffell PhD Contact Sean Ruffell
Mr. Jack Salisbury PhD jack.salisbury@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Catriona Sellick PhD Contact Catriona Sellick
Mr. Gustav Semanchik MScR gustav.j.semanchik@durham.ac.uk
Ms Anza Shakeel PhD Contact Anza Shakeel
Mr. Gustavo Soares PhD gustavo.l.soares@durham.ac.uk
Mr. David Squirrell MScR Contact David Squirrell
Miss Madeleine Stow PhD madeleine.a.stow@durham.ac.uk
Mr Rory Sutton MScR rory.sutton@durham.ac.uk
Miss Alexandra Sweeney PhD alexandra.m.sweeney@durham.ac.uk
Miss Jennifer Talbot MScR jennifer.a.talbot@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Alexandra Tamas PhD alexandra.tamas@durham.ac.uk
Ms Jennifer Taylor PhD jennifer.l.taylor@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Jeremy Teale MScR jeremy.s.teale@durham.ac.uk
Mr Joseph Tedd MScR Contact Joseph Tedd
Mr Niall Tracey PhD niall.tracey@durham.ac.uk
Miss Rebecca Winstanley PhD rebecca.winstanley@durham.ac.uk
Miss Zihan Yang PhD Contact Zihan Yang
Geospatial Research Ltd: Dr Susan Daniels GRL Research Fellow s.e.daniels@durham.ac.uk
Dr Richard R. Jones GRL Research Fellow r.r.jones@durham.ac.uk
Dr Michele McErlean GRL m.a.mcerlean@durham.ac.uk
Mr David Oxlade GRL Research Assistant Contact David Oxlade
Laboratories and Workshops: Sir Kingsley Dunham Earth Imaging Laboratory 42317 gary.wilkinson@durham.ac.uk
CCS, Rock Mechanics & Fluid Dynamics Laboratory 42292
Environmental Geochemistry Lab
GeoChem Prep Lab (Total Lab) 42298
Geophysical Equipment Store 42297 gary.wilkinson@durham.ac.uk
Ocean-Bottom Instrumentation Facility 42313
Rock Prep
Sedimentary Lab
Sir Kingsley Dunham Palaeoclimate Research Lab
Stable Isotope Lab 41593
Clean Room 42316
Geophysics Workshop 42323
ICP Laboratory 42289
Micropalaeontology Laboratory 42340
Microscope and SEM Room 42291
Rock Cutting 42321
Stable Isotope Preparation Laboratory 42306
Thin Section Workshop 42327
TIMS/PIMMS Laboratory 42287
Ultra Clean Room 42308

Admissions Queries

Can't find what you're looking for? Fill out an enquiry form here and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.