Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Email and Telephone Directory

Department of History

SectionNamePositionTelephoneFaxEmail
  FAX 41041
Ms Imogen Barton Department Manager 41072 history.manager@durham.ac.uk
Ms Audrey Bowron Learning and Teaching Administrator 41081 history.taughtprogrammes@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Joanna Cant Operations Administrator 47210 history.operations@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Katrin Krauss PGR Coordinator 41056 history.postgrad.research@durham.ac.uk
Miss Hannah Martin Learning and Teaching Administrator 41040 history.taughtprogrammes@durham.ac.uk
Ms Lydia Price Learning and Teaching Administrator 44808 history.taughtprogrammes@durham.ac.uk
Ms Abigail Shovlin Learning and Teaching Manager 41057 history.landtmanager@durham.ac.uk
Administrative Staff: Ms Imogen Barton Departmental Manager 41072 Contact Imogen Barton
Ms Audrey Bowron Learning and Teaching Administrator 41081 Contact Audrey Bowron
Mrs Joanna Cant Operations Administrator 47210 Contact Joanna Cant
Mrs Zoë Gardiner Senior Research Administrator 41499 Contact Zoë Gardiner
Mrs Katrin Krauss PGR Coordinator 41056
Miss Hannah Martin Learning and Teaching Administrator 41040 Contact Hannah Martin
Ms Lydia Price Learning and Teaching Administrator 44808 lydia.r.price@durham.ac.uk
Ms Abigail Shovlin Learning and Teaching Manager 41057 Contact Abigail Shovlin
Academic Staff: Dr Sare Aricanli Assistant Professor (Early Modern and Modern Chinese History) 44713 sare.aricanli@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alex Barber Assistant Professor (Early Modern British History) 41051 a.w.barber@durham.ac.uk
Dr Eleanor Rosamund Barraclough Associate Professor (Medieval History and Literature) 42528 e.r.barraclough@durham.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Bateson Part time tutor - US History Contact Catherine Bateson
Dr Mark Bennett Part time tutor - Modern British History mark.bennett@durham.ac.uk
Dr Adam Bronson Assistant Professor (Modern Japanese History) 44375 adam.p.bronson@durham.ac.uk
Dr Alex Brown Assistant Professor (Late Medieval and Early Modern British History) 41069 a.t.brown@durham.ac.uk
Dr James Callanan Teaching Fellow (Modern American History) 41061 j.d.callanan@durham.ac.uk
Dr John-Henry Clay Associate Professor (Early Medieval History) 41074 j.w.clay@durham.ac.uk
Dr Chris Courtney Assistant Professor (Modern Chinese History) 47358 christopher.j.courtney@durham.ac.uk
Dr David Craig Associate Professor (Modern British History) 41066 d.m.craig@durham.ac.uk
Dr Barbara Crosbie Assistant Professor (Early Modern Social History) 41076 Contact Barbara Crosbie
Professor Sarah Davies Head of Department / Professor (Modern Russian and European History) 41053 s.r.davies@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ana de Oliveira Dias Part time tutor - Medieval History a.p.c.dias@durham.ac.uk
Dr Finola Finn Part time tutor - Early Modern History finola.finn@durham.ac.uk
Dr Helen Foxhall Forbes Associate Professor (Early Medieval History) 42995 h.g.foxhallforbes@durham.ac.uk
Professor Richard Gameson Professor (History of the Book) 41043 richard.gameson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Giles Gasper Professor (High Medieval History) 46570 g.e.m.gasper@durham.ac.uk
Dr Adrian Green Director of Postgraduate Studies (Research) / Associate Professor (Early Modern British and American History) 41050 a.g.green@durham.ac.uk
Dr Lara Green Teaching Fellow - Russian History lara.green@durham.ac.uk
Dr Tom Hamilton Assistant Professor (Early Modern European History) 47352 tom.b.hamilton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Anne Heffernan Assistant Professor (Southern African History) 47344 anne.k.heffernan@durham.ac.uk
Dr Richard Huzzey Associate Professor (Reader) (Modern British History) 41063 richard.w.huzzey@durham.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Johnson Associate Professor (Modern British History) 41052 matthew.johnson@durham.ac.uk
Dr Rachel Johnson Assistant Professor (Modern African History) 44356 rachel.johnson2@durham.ac.uk
Professor Barbara Keys Professor (US History) 47211 barbara.j.keys@durham.ac.uk
Dr James Koranyi Assistant Professor (Modern European Cultural History) 42994 james.koranyi@durham.ac.uk
Dr John Lee Assistant Professor (East Asian History) 41074 john.s.lee@durham.ac.uk
Dr Cherry Leonardi Associate Professor (Modern African History) 41070 d.c.leonardi@durham.ac.uk
Professor Christian Liddy Deputy Head of Department (Director of Research) / Professor (Late Medieval History) 41079 c.d.liddy@durham.ac.uk
Dr David Lowther Part time tutor - Early Modern and Modern British History david.a.lowther@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jennifer Luff Chair of Examiners / Associate Professor (Modern American History) 42987 jennifer.luff@durham.ac.uk
Dr Julie Marfany Deputy Head of Department (Director of Studies) / Associate Professor (Early Modern and Modern Economic and Social History) 44355 julie.marfany@durham.ac.uk
Dr Joseph D. Martin Assistant Professor (History of Science and Technology) joseph.d.martin@durham.ac.uk
Dr Natalie Mears Associate Professor (Reader) (Early Modern British History) 41049 natalie.mears@durham.ac.uk
Dr David Minto Director of Postgraduate Studies Taught / Assistant Professor (Modern British History) 41046 Contact David Minto
Dr Skye Montgomery Lecturer (Modern American History) Contact Skye Montgomery
Dr Andrzej Olechnowicz Assistant Professor (Modern British History) 41055 a.j.olechnowicz@durham.ac.uk
Dr Toby Osborne Associate Professor (Early Modern European History) 41062 toby.osborne@durham.ac.uk
Dr Markian Prokopovych Assistant Professor (Modern European Cultural History) 41075 markian.prokopovych@durham.ac.uk
Professor Susan E. Reid Professor (Transnational and Modern European History) susan.e.reid@durham.ac.uk
Professor Nicole Reinhardt Professor (Early Modern European History) 41080 nicole.reinhardt@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jake Christopher Richards Assistant Professor (Modern British History) jake.c.richards@durham.ac.uk
Prof. Christina Riggs Professor (History of Visual Culture) christina.j.riggs@durham.ac.uk
Dr Helen Roche Assistant Professor (Modern European Cultural History) helen.b.roche@durham.ac.uk
Dr Charlie Rozier Lecturer (Medieval History) 41077 c.c.rozier@durham.ac.uk
Professor Len Scales Professor (Late Medieval History) 41077 l.e.scales@durham.ac.uk
Professor Kay Schiller Professor (Modern European History) 46586 kay.schiller@durham.ac.uk
Professor Graeme Small Professor (Late Medieval History) 44343 g.p.small@durham.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Stammers Associate Professor (Modern European Cultural History) 41071 t.e.stammers@durham.ac.uk
Prof Julie-Marie Strange Professor (Modern British History) julie-marie.strange@durham.ac.uk
Professor Stephen Taylor Professor (Early Modern British History) 41060 s.j.c.taylor@durham.ac.uk
Dr Gabriella Treglia Assistant Professor (Modern American History) 41042 g.a.treglia@durham.ac.uk
Dr Kevin Waite Assistant Professor (Modern American History) 43295 kevin.a.waite@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jacob Wiebel Assistant Professor (Modern African History) 44357 jacob.wiebel@durham.ac.uk
Professor Philip Williamson Professor (Modern British History) p.a.williamson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Justin Willis Professor (Modern African History) 41073 justin.willis@durham.ac.uk
Professor Andy Wood Professor (Early Modern Social History) andrew.wood3@durham.ac.uk
Teaching Fellows: Dr Margaret Ray Teaching Fellow (Modern History) 41082 margaret.ray@durham.ac.uk
Research Staff: Dr Marco Barducci Assistant Professor(research)/Solway fellow at IMEMS marco.barducci@durham.ac.uk
Dr Anna Dorofeeva anna.dorofeeva@durham.ac.uk
Dr Henry Miller Honorary Fellow henry.j.miller@durham.ac.uk
Dr Matthieu Pignot Leverhulme Early Career Fellow Contact Matthieu Pignot
Dr Heidi Stoner Leverhulme Early Career Fellow (Early Medieval History) 41045 heidi.l.stoner@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ruben Verwaal ruben.e.verwaal@durham.ac.uk
Honorary: Dr Souvik Naha Assistant Professor (Research) souvik.naha@durham.ac.uk
PhD Students: Mr. Daniel Adamson daniel.e.adamson@durham.ac.uk
Mrs. Amira Al-harthi Contact Amira Al-harthi
Mr Christopher Allan Coal, Shipping & Empire: The Triumverate of British Power, 1850-1914 c.j.allan@durham.ac.uk
Margaret Armstrong margaret.armstrong@durham.ac.uk
Ms Katharine Bader Contact Katharine Bader
Miss Bethany Brewer Women and the Rwandan Genocide: Agency, Culpability and Evasion Contact Bethany Brewer
Ms Jacqueline Brooks Contact Jacqueline Brooks
Mr Adrian Browne The politics of landscape and identity in Uganda’s Albertine borderlands since c.1864 a.j.browne@durham.ac.uk
Ngala Chome killian.n.chome@durham.ac.uk
Mr Chi Chuk Contact Chi Chuk
Miss Rachel Clamp Keeping the Diseased: Plague Nursing, Care and Bodywork in Early Modern England c.1570-1665 Contact Rachel Clamp
Kelly Marie Clarke The (re-)making of the North Sea world: politics, trade and long-distance interactions between Anglo-Saxon England and Merovingian Gaul in the 'long' seventh century Contact Kelly Marie Clarke
Mr Austin Collins Influence of the Early Modern French Monarchy in Material, Visual, and Spatial Culture, 1547-1589 Contact Austin Collins
James Cronin Historical writing and research in the Benedictine monastic communities of late medieval England Contact James Cronin
Mr Harry Cross harry.cross@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Daniel Doherty Anti-Abolitionist Violence in the Antebellum North, 1840-1845 Contact Daniel Doherty
Mr. Christian Drury British Narratives of Arctic Travel and Exploration, 1875-1940 Contact Christian Drury
Mr Razvan Dumitru ‘We lived with it, we were born with it and we have the tradition in our blood’: Local identities among Transylvanian Romanians between 1918 and 1948 Contact Razvan Dumitru
Mr Gabriel Fidler Contact Gabriel Fidler
Mr Alastair Forbes Anglo-Norman Monastic Conceptualisations on the Place, Nature, and Fate of the milites, c. 1050 – 1150 Contact Alastair Forbes
Ms Kimberley Foy Dress and Diplomacy at the Early Stuart Court Contact Kimberley Foy
Mr Yotam Gidron Contact Yotam Gidron
Mr. Jeremy Goldsmith Contact Jeremy Goldsmith
Mr James Goodwin Contact James Goodwin
Mr Andrew Green French noble networks between c.1430 and c.1490 Contact Andrew Green
Miss Yundi Guo Classical music culture in the German Democratic Republic (GDR) and in Anglo-GDR relations under Honecker (1971-1989) yundi.guo@durham.ac.uk
Barbara Hargreaves The hagiography of healthcare in twelfth-century English saints’ Lives b.m.hargreaves@durham.ac.uk
Miss Rachael Harkes The Politics of Fraternity: the Ludlow Palmers’ Guild, 1250-1550 Contact Rachael Harkes
Mr Chih-hsin Huang Contact Chih-hsin Huang
Ms Anna Jones The 'People's War' in British film, 1939-1945 a.r.jones@durham.ac.uk
Ms Alexandra Jordan Contact Alexandra Jordan
Mr Thomas Kearns thomas.r.kearns@durham.ac.uk
Mr Manish Kumar Contact Manish Kumar
Fergal Leonard Faction, Patronage, and Political Networks in the West March, 1569 – 1603 fergal.leonard@durham.ac.uk
Miss Carrie Long ‘Yours humbly, sincerely, and obediently’? The Social Agency of Petitioning, c1789 -1860. (AHRC funded, Collaborative Doctoral Partnership project). Contact Carrie Long
Mr Maksymilian Loth-hill Contact Maksymilian Loth-hill
Mr Matthew Lumley Greek and Latin Monasticism in Southern Italy during the Crusader Era Contact Matthew Lumley
Miss Lindsay Macnaughton lindsay.h.macnaughton@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Mark Markov Contact Mark Markov
Ms Kate Marlow The Formation of Ethnic Identity in Anglo-Saxon England (700-1066) and Medieval Iceland (900-1264) Contact Kate Marlow
Miss Sarah Marriott Development Narratives in South Sudan since 1945 s.j.marriott@durham.ac.uk
Ms Emily Marsden First World War photographs in the collections of the National Media Museum, Bradford Contact Emily Marsden
Mr. Newby Mccabe Political activism between ‘dinner and tea’: Labour women and the problem of participation Contact Newby Mccabe
Sarah McCook s.l.mccook@durham.ac.uk
Miss Antonia Miejluk Snapshot Photography in the Interwar Soviet Union Contact Antonia Miejluk
Mr Callum Murrell Theories of Politics and the Politics of Theory: Aspects of Power and Discourse in Early Modern England c.d.murrell@durham.ac.uk
Mr Mathew Norman Drawing friendship in the Romantic period: The portraits of John Bacon the Younger (1777-1859) and his contemporaries Contact Mathew Norman
Miss Antonia Perna Childhood, Politics and Patriotism in Revolutionary France, 1789–99 Contact Antonia Perna
Kirstyn Raitz Urban Prostitution in London and Paris, 1650-1800 k.a.raitz@durham.ac.uk
Mr William Raybould william.d.raybould@durham.ac.uk
Miss Natasha Shoory From the Footnotes to the Focus: Re-discovering, Re-examining, and Re-contextualising Female Collectors of the Ancien Régime Contact Natasha Shoory
Miss Caroline Smith The Palaces of the Bishops of Durham: Archaeological and Historical Perspectives AD 1100 – 1550 c.e.h.smith@durham.ac.uk
Rhiannon Snaith Contact Rhiannon Snaith
Grace Stephenson British Newsreels at War, 1939-1945 Contact Grace Stephenson
Miss Ciara Stewart Contact Ciara Stewart
Mr James Taffe The queen’s household in England, 1527-1547 Contact James Taffe
Miss Avril Taylor Contact Avril Taylor
Mr Gareth Townley What do the religious beliefs of the Harleys of BramptonBryan, Herefordshire, tell us about the nature of early Stuart puritanism? gareth.l.townley@durham.ac.uk
Ms Marina Tymviou Early Modern European Queenship marina.tymviou@durham.ac.uk
Mr Adam Whybrow The visitor experience: tourism and architecture in England during the long eighteenth century Contact Adam Whybrow
Mr Ryan Wicklund Agriculture Management and Market Responsiveness in Medieval County Durham Contact Ryan Wicklund
PhD Graduates: Mr Matthew Sterling Benson Taxation and Political Authority in South Sudan m.s.benson@durham.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Gilbert Anglo-Saxon medical recipes in non-medical manuscripts: matters of culture, context and community sarah.gilbert2@durham.ac.uk
Dr Lydia Harris Vitam mortalem, mortem vitalem: Abortion and Contraception in the High Middle Ages, 950-1200 l.m.harris@durham.ac.uk
Mr Thomas Lowman Beyond Idi Amin: Causes and Drivers of Mass Violence in Uganda, 1971-79 Contact Thomas Lowman
Dr Rachael Matthews The Book, the Body, and the Mirror: The Use of Metaphor in the Writings of Marguerite Porete and Marguerite d'Oingt r.v.matthews@durham.ac.uk
Mr Marcus Meer Cities, Citizens, and their Signs: HeraldicCommunication and Urban Visual Culture in LateMedieval England and Germany. Contact Marcus Meer
Dr Joseph Mulhern After 1833: British Entanglement with Brazilian Slavery. Contact Joseph Mulhern
Dr Kathleen Reynolds Sickness in Correspondence: gentry letter writing and the subject of health in eighteenth century Yorkshire and the North-East k.m.reynolds@durham.ac.uk
Dr Abigail Steed The ideology of vengeance: theology, literature and practice in England c.900-1150 Contact Abigail Steed
Associated Staff: Professor Paul Bailey Professor Emeritus (Modern Chinese History) paul.bailey@durham.ac.uk
Dr John Brown Honorary Fellow Contact John Brown
Dr Ellen Crabtree Honorary Fellow e.p.crabtree@durham.ac.uk
Prof Robin Frame Professor Emeritus (Late Medieval History) r.f.frame@durham.ac.uk
Dr Barbara Gribling Honorary Fellow (Modern British History) barbara.gribling@durham.ac.uk
Professor Howell John Harris Professor Emeritus (Modern American History) h.j.harris@durham.ac.uk
Dr Margaret M. Harvey Honorary Fellow (Late Medieval History) m.m.harvey@durham.ac.uk
Prof. PDA Harvey Professor Emeritus (Medieval History)
Professor Ludmilla Jordanova Professor Emeritus (Visual Culture) 41065 ludmilla.jordanova@durham.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Kent Honorary Fellow Contact Catherine Kent
Professor Ranald Michie Professor Emeritus (Financial History) r.c.michie@durham.ac.uk
Professor Michael Prestwich Professor Emeritus (Medieval History) m.c.prestwich@durham.ac.uk
Professor David Rollason Professor Emeritus (Early Medieval History) david.rollason@durham.ac.uk
Dr Lynda Rollason Honorary Fellow (Late Medieval History) l.s.rollason@durham.ac.uk
Dr Clare Stancliffe Honorary Reader in Ecclesiastical History c.e.stancliffe@durham.ac.uk
Dr Christine Woodhead Honorary Fellow (Ottoman History) c.m.woodhead@durham.ac.uk

Admissions Queries

Can't find what you're looking for? Fill out an enquiry form here and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.