We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Welcome to Durham University's Common Awards website

Common Awards Modules

As part of the Common Awards curriculum framework, a portfolio of overarching modules was developed and approved. TEIs choose which modules they will deliver for each of the programmes they offer (in line with the requirements set out in the programme specifications).

Module outlines

For each module, there is a 'module outline' that sets out key information, such as the module title, basic content, and learning outcomes. The information in the module outline forms a 'core' that all TEIs must include in their modules; this ensures comparability and consistency across Common Awards programmes. The module outlines also enable TEIs to tailor individual modules to their particular context, expertise, or student body. In particular, TEIs can choose the assessment methods for each module (in line with assessment guidance) and they can specify the learning hours for each module (in line with the learning hours policy).

Module codes

All modules are allocated a unique 'module code' (e.g. TMM1501). The module code enables the University to identify modules; this is particularly important for the processes of module registration and marks entry.