We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

University Committees

University Academic Promotion Committee

Standing Orders

(approved by Senate & Council in October 2018)

The University Progression Committee is a Joint Business/Operations Committee of Senate and Council which shall meet as necessary to advise these bodies on all matters relating to the progression and promotion of academic, teaching and research staff.

These Standing Orders should be read in conjunction with the Joint Standing Orders of Senate and Council.

Membership (Composition)

(Members 2021/22)
Ex officio members:
The Vice-Chancellor and Warden Professor Karen O'Brien (Chair)
The Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost Professor Antony Long
The Deputy Provost Professor Richard Crisp
The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) Professor Alan Houston
The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Colin Bain
The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Global) Professor Claire O'Malley
Four Executive Deans Professor Charlotte Clarke
Professor Janet Stewart
Professor Jacqui Ramagge
Professor Kiran Fernandes (Interim until 01/10/22)
Four senior* Professors with no head of department responsibilities to include one from each Faculty:
  • Arts and Humanities
Professor Barbara Ravelhofer (2023) (15)
  • Business

Professor Nejat Anbarci (2022) (19)

  • Science
Professor Adekunle Adeyeye (2023) (20)
  • Social Sciences and Health
Professor Helen Ball (2022) (19)
*The senior Professors appointed from the four Faculties shall not regard themselves as Faculty representatives.
A full date after a member's name indicates that their term of office will expire on the 31 July in that year and a half date indicates the year of appointment of that member. eg (2020) (17) indicates that the member was appointed in 2017 and their term of office will expire on the 31 July 2020.

A member of the Committee whose own case is being considered shall withdraw while a decision is being taken concerning their case.

The Committee should have an appropriate gender balance.

Term of Office

The normal term of office is three years.


The secretary to the Committee shall be appointed by Human Resources (Mrs Lucy Woods)


The Committee will meet twice a year, once in Michaelmas Term and once in Easter Term. It will also interact electronically to progress its business.

Terms of Reference


  1. scrutinising policy issues in respect of the Promotion and Progression Procedures for Academic, Teaching and Research Staff;
  2. reviewing and, as appropriate, confirming the recommendations of the Faculty Progression Committees in respect of individual applications for promotion to Associate Professor and Professor, including movement between Professorial Bands in Grade 10;
  3. receiving recommendations from Faculty Progression Committees in relation to the choice of external referees;
  4. approving the membership of the Faculty Progression Committees;
  5. having oversight of equality and diversity issues in relation to academic progression and to ensure that procedures are free from discrimination.

Decisions can exceptionally be taken by the Committee by correspondence and email (for example when considering out of round cases for progression).


To review on an annual basis the effectiveness of the Committee against its Terms of Reference. Any changes will be proposed in a Report delivered to Senate at the end of the academic year.


Faculty Progression Committees and Departmental Progression Committees.


The Committee shall receive reports from Faculty Progression Committees.

The Committee shall provide a report to each meeting of Senate and Council.