We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University Committees

Tuesday 18 January 2011

Business for Consideration


Welcome to New Member: CH:

2. Minutes: 9 November 2010: CH: to approve Document S/10/28
3. Matters Arising
4. Vice-Chancellor's Business
a) MPharm: CH: to receive Document S/10/29
b) Academies: CF: to receive an oral update
c) Staff Members of Council: CF: to comment Document S/10/30
d) Draft Information Systems Strategy: AF: to comment Document S/10/31
e) Head of Department: CH: to comment
Professor Richard Giulianotti, School of Applied Social Sciences, for a period of 3 years from 1 February 2011.
f) General Business: CH: to receive oral update
5. Report from Council: 23 November 2010: CH: to receive Document S/10/32
6. Undergraduate Tuition Fees Update: CH: to comment Document S/10/33 Closed

Available upon request from GSU

7. Draft Carbon Management Plan: TPB: to comment and receive a presentation Document S/10/34
Peter Robinson, Paul Riddlesden, Tara Duncan invited to attend
8. Postgraduate Strategy: AF: to approve Document S/10/36

Education Committee: 8 November 2010: AF: to approve

Document S/10/38

Research Committee: 9 December 2010: TMcL: to consider and receive a presentation

Document S/10/39

Available upon request from GSU

11. Ethics Advisory Committee: 18 November 2010: PH: to approve Document S/10/40

Available upon request from GSU

12. Senate Advisory Panel on Ceremonies and Honorary Degrees: CH: to receive Document S/10/41 Closed

Available upon request from GSU

Business For Information

1. Action by the Vice-Chancellor: CH:
to report: that the Vice-Chancellor, acting on behalf of Senate and the Chairman of Council on behalf of Council where appropriate, have approved the following items of business since the last meeting of Senate:
Committees - Senate Academic Appeals Committee
a) the appointment of Professor S Kunin as Vice-Chair of SAAC;
b) the appointment of Professor Dave Petley, Deputy Head of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Health as Acting Chair of Senate Academic Appeals Committee to consider a specific appeal case where prior involvement excludes the Chair and Deputy Chair's from chairing this case.
2. Appointment of Undergraduate and Postgraduate Examiners 2010/11: AF: to receive
(Names of examiners approved by Education Committee will be available for consultation at the meeting)
3. Appointments and Resignations: CF: to receive (available from GES upon request) Document S/10/42
4. Senior Appointment: CH: to receive Document S/10/43
5. Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Titles: RC/AD/SK: to receive Document S/10/44
6. Schedule of Senate Business 2010/11: CH: to receive Document S/10/45
7. University Executive Committee: CH: to note
The minutes of meetings of UEC are available for the information of members on the University’s website at

Please note that there is no document S/10/35 or 37


TPB Professor Tim Burt, Dean for Environmental Sustainability
AF Professor Anthony Forster, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)
RC Professor Robin Coningham, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Social Sciences & Health)
AD Professor Andrew Deeks, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Science)
CF Carolyn Fowler, Registrar and Secretary
CH Professor Chris Higgins, Vice-Chancellor & Warden
PH Professor Pali Hungin, Vice Chair of Ethics Advisory Committee
SK Professor Seth Kunin, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Arts & Humanities)
TMcL Professor Tom McLeish, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)