We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University Committees

Tuesday 15 January 2013

Business for Consideration

1. Welcome: CH (Johannes Haubold, Head of Department (Classics and Ancient History) and Carolyn Brown, Chief Information Officer attending their first meeting.)
2. To approve Minutes: 6 November 2012: CH

Document S/12/29

3. To receive Matters Arising: CH
4. To endorse Head of Department: CH: Biological and Biomedical Sciences: Professor Patrick J Hussey for a further 2 years from 1 August 2013.
5. To receive

VC’s Business
a) Update on the Planning Process: RH
b) General Business: CH

6. To discuss/ approve

Governance Review: PJ (Robert Gillespie, Chair of Council, and Andrew Mitchell, Vice-Chair of Council are invited to attend)

Document S/12/30

Secretary’s Note:This item shall include a discussion between Senate members and the Chair and Vice-Chair of Council. In order to facilitate this, it is intended to formally adjourn the meeting of Senate to allow the Chair of Council to lead this discussion.

7. To discuss Maximising Time for Core Academic Activity: TMcL Document S/12/31
8. To discuss Growing our Research Community and Activity: Research Funding: TMcL Closed Document S/12/32
9. To receive/approve Education Committee: Report: 5 November and 10 December 2012: TW Document S/12/33 and 34
10. To receive Research Committee: 6 December 2012: TMcL Document S/12/35
11. To receive Report from Council: 20 November 2012: CH Document S/12/36
12. To receive Senate Advisory Panel on Ceremonies and Honorary Degrees: CH Closed Document S/12/37

Business For Information

13. AEA Chair and Vice-Chair
To report: the continued appointment of Professor Andrew Millard as Chair of AEA and the appointment of Dr Simon Forrest as Vice-Chair of AEA for a three year period until 31 July 2015, subject to re-election.
To receive The following reports:
14. Action by the Vice-Chancellor: CH Document S/12/38
15. Appointments and Resignations: CH (Available from GES upon request) Document S/12/39
16. Senior Appointments: CH Document S/12/40
17. Honorary and Visiting Titles: RC/AD/SK Document S/12/41
18. Annual Cycle of Senate Business 2012/13: CH Document S/12/42
19. Progress Report of Agreed Actions 2012/13: CH Document S/12/43
20. University Executive Committee: CH
The minutes of meetings of UEC are available for the information of members on the University’s website at

Please note that documents S/12/31 and 32 are awaited and will follow

RC Robin Coningham, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Social Sciences and Heath)
AD Andrew Deeks, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Science)
CH Chris Higgins, Vice-Chancellor and Warden (Chair)
RH Ray Hudson, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Partnerships and Engagement)
PJ Peter Judge, University Secretary (Interim)
SK Seth Kunin, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Arts & Humanities)
TMcL Tom McLeish, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
TW Tom Ward, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)