We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University Committees

Tuesday 9 October 2012

Business for Consideration


Welcome to New Members: CH

Chair's Business

2. To approve Minutes: 19 June 2012 Document S/12/01
3. Matters Arising
4. To endorse Report from Council: 28 September 2012 Document S/12/02
5. To endorse

Heads of Department

i) Anthropology: Professor Helen Ball for 3 years from 1 August 2013;

ii) Classics and Ancient History: Professor Johannes Haubold for 3 years from 1 January 2013;

iii) Education: Professor Carl Bagley for 3 years from 1 August 2013;

iv) Geography: Professor Antony Long for 3 years from 1 August 2013;

v) Philosophy: Dr Robin Hendry for 3 years from 1 April 2013.

6. To receive General Business: Oral Update

Key Discussion Items:

7. To discuss 5 year Academic Priorities: CH
8. To approve Proposed Changes to the Composition and Terms of Reference of Research and Education Committees: RH Document S/12/03

Research Strategy

9. To discuss Research Action Plan 2012-13: TMcL (Available on request from GSU) Attachment V of Document S/12/09

Education Strategy

10. To discuss Update on Admissions: TW Document S/12/04 Closed
11. To discuss 2012 NSS Results: TW Document S/12/05

Other Business

12. To approve Renaming of Durham Business School: RC Document S/12/06
13. To approve Standing Orders of Senate: PL Document S/12/07

Committee Reports

14. To receive Education Committee: Report from: 18 June 2012: TW Document S/12/08
15. To receive Research Committee: 21 June 2012: TMcL(Available on request from GSU) Document S/12/09

Business For Information

To receive The following reports:
16. Action by the Vice-Chancellor: CH Document S/12/10
17. Appointments and Resignations: CH (Available from GES upon request) Document S/12/11
18. Senior Appointments: CH Document S/12/12
19. Report from Council: 3 July 2012: CH Document S/12/13
20. Honorary and Visiting Titles: RC/AD/SK Document S/12/14
21. University Executive Committee: CH
The minutes of meetings of UEC are available for the information of members on the University’s website at

RC Professor Robin Coningham, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Social Sciences and Heath)
AD Professor Andrew Deeks, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Science)
CH Professor Chris Higgins, Vice-Chancellor and Warden (Chair)
RH Professor Ray Hudson, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Partnerships and Engagement)
SK Professor Seth Kunin, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Arts & Humanities)
PL Miss Paulina Lubacz, Treasurer and Acting Registrar and Secretary
TMcL Professor Tom McLeish, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
TW Professor Tom Ward, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)

New Senate Members

Professor Tom Ward (PVC Education)

Heads of College

Professor Elizabeth Archibald (St Cuthbert Society)

Professor Maggie O'Neill (Ustinov)

Professor John Ashworth (Stephenson College)

Heads of Department

Professor Ingo Gildenhard (Classics and Ancient History)

Professor Alec Ryrie (Theology and Religion)

Dr Edward Welch (School of Modern Languages and Cultures)

Student Members

Mr Archie Dallas (Durham Students’ Union President).

The Students’ Union will be electing the members of Senate at Assembly which will be on the 7th November (which means they will miss two meetings). In the interim Greg Carter (who was the post graduate representative from last year) and Jenny James, the current Education and Welfare Officer will attend.

AEA Members

Dr Jeremy Kendal

Dr Sam Nolan

Dr Marina Sawdon

Co-opted Members

Professor Clare Bambra (Director, Wolfson Research Institute)

Professor Veronica Strang (Executive Director of the Institute of Advanced Study)