We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University Committees

Tuesday 30 April 2013

Business for Consideration

1. Welcome: CH (Dr Robin Hendry, Head of the Department of Philosophy, and Professor Jon Trevelyan, Head of the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences, attending their first meeting)
2. To approve Minutes: 5 March 2013: CH

Document S/12/58

3. To receive Matters Arising: CH
4. To receive Report from Council 19 March 2013: CH

Document S/12/59

5. To endorse

Head of Department: CH
History: Professor Stephen Taylor for a period of 3 years from 1 August 2013


VC’s Business

To approve

a) Senate Advisory Panel on Ceremonies and Honorary Degrees (Please vote using the form laid on the table and leave the completed forms in the tray on the table as you leave)

Document S/12/60 Closed
To receive

b) General Business: CH

  • Postgraduate Recruitment
To discuss

c) Vice-Chancellor’s Questions Proposal

Document S/12/61 Closed
7. To discuss IT Strategy Action Plan: PL

Document S/12/62 Closed

8. To discuss Academic Staff Recruitment: CH Document S/12/63 Closed
9. To receive Governance Review Project: PJ Document S/12/64
10. To approve Education Committee: 13 March 2013: TW Document S/12/65
11. To receive Research Committee: 21 March 2013: TMcL Document S/12/66

Business For Information

To receive The following reports:
12. Action by the Vice-Chancellor: CH Document S/12/67
13. Academic Progression Committee: 11 April 2013: CH Document S/12/68
14. Appointments and Resignations: CH (Available from GES upon request) Document S/12/69
15. Senior Appointments: CH Document S/12/70
16. Honorary and Visiting Titles: RC/AD/SK Document S/12/71
17. Annual Cycle of Senate Business 2012/13: CH Document S/12/72
18. Progress Report of Agreed Actions 2012/13: CH Document S/12/73
19. University Executive Committee: CH
The minutes of meetings of UEC are available for the information of members on the University’s website at

RC Robin Coningham, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Social Sciences and Heath)
AD Andrew Deeks, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Science)
RH Richard Davies (Deputy Chair Research Committee)
CH Chris Higgins, Vice-Chancellor and Warden (Chair)
RH Ray Hudson, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Partnerships and Engagement)
PJ Peter Judge, University Secretary (Interim)
SK Seth Kunin, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Arts & Humanities)
PL Paulina Lubacz, Treasurer and Acting Registrar
TMcL Tom McLeish, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
TW Tom Ward, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)