We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University Committees

Tuesday 21 June 2011

Business for Consideration


Welcome to New Members: CH

2. Minutes: 3 May 2011: CH: to approve Document S/10/87a
Document S/10/87b Closed Minute Strictly Private and Confidential to Senate Members Only
3. Matters Arising
4. Vice-Chancellor's Business
a) Head of Department: CH: to comment
Professor Ingo Gildenhard, Department of Classics & Ancient History, for a period of 3 years from 1 August 2012

b) Student Representatives on University Committees: AF: to approve

Document S/10/88
c) General Business: CH: to receive oral update
5. Report from Council: 17 May 2011: CH: to receive Document S/10/89
6. Education Strategy Items
a) Experience Durham Strategy 2010-15: AF: to approve Document S/10/90
Dr Peter Warburton, Dean of Experience Durham, is invited to attend
b) Supported Progression: The Durham Compact Scheme: AF: to approve Document S/10/91 Closed
c) Increasing Undergraduate Entry requirements that include an A* at A level: AF: to approve Document S/10/92 Closed
d) Academic Contact: AF: to discuss Document S/10/93 Closed
Strictly Private and Confidential for Members of Senate Only
e) Draft Action Plan 2011/12 for Education Strategy: AF: to comment Document S/10/94
7. Research Strategy Items
a) Seedcorn Research Fund: Report on Progress 2008-11: RH: to endorse Document S/10/95
b) Draft Action Plan 2011/12 for Research Strategy: RH: to comment Document S/10/96 to follow
Available on request from GSU

Education Committee

b) 18 May 2011: AF: to approve Document S/10/97
c) 14 June 2011: AF: to approve Document S/10/98
9. Research Committee: 5 May 2011: TMcL: to approve Document S/10/99
Available on request from GSU
10. Nominations Committee: 2 June 2011: CH: to approve Document S/10/100
11. Senate Advisory Panel on Ceremonies and Honorary Degrees: CH: to receive Document S/10/102 Closed
12. Annual Summary of Business to Senate 2010/11: CH: to receive Document S/10/103
13. Vacation Powers: CH: to approve the proposal that the Vice-Chancellor and Warden or his designated representative be authorised to take such action, on behalf of Senate, in relation to matters of a routine or non-contentious nature as may be necessary during the long vacation.
To note: that the Chair reserves the right to call an extraordinary meeting of Senate as indicated in Senate Standing Orders if this is deemed to be the appropriate course of action.
Please note that there is no document 101

Business For Information

1. Action by the Vice-Chancellor: CH: to report: that the Vice-Chancellor, acting on behalf of Senate and the Chairman of Council on behalf of Council where appropriate, have approved the following item of business since the last meeting of Senate:
Research Committee
The appointment of Professor Tim Blackman to serve as a representative of a Director of a pan-University research institute on Research Committee, until 31 July 2012.
2. Academic Progression Committee: 26 May 2011: CH: to receive Document S/10/104
3. Appointments and Resignations: CF: to receive (available from GES upon request) Document S/10/105
4. Senior Appointment: CH: to receive Document S/10/106
5. Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Titles: RC/AD/SK: to receive Document S/10/107
6. Education Committee: Changes to/Withdrawals of Programmes 2010/11: AF: to receive
(Details of changes to/withdrawals of programmes approved for 2010/11 will be available for consultation at the meeting)
7. Appointment of Postgraduate Research Examiners 2010/11: AF: to receive
(Names of examiners approved by Education Committee will be available for consultation at the meeting)
8. AEA: Membership of Senate: AM
To report: that the following have been elected to serve on Senate and the Standing Committee of the Academic Electoral Assembly for a period of three years beginning 1 August 2011:
• Dr Simon Forrest (Medicine and Health)
• Professor Lorna Fox O'Mahony (Law)
• Dr Rebecca Gowland (Archaeology)
• *Dr Andrew Millard (Archaeology)
• *Dr Thomas Renstrom (DBS)
• *Dr Marek Szablewski (Physics)
for a period of 1 year, to fill a casual vacancy, beginning 1 August 2011:
• Ms Laura Wilson (Hild-Bede)
* indicates reappointment of existing members
9. University Executive Committee: CH: to note
The minutes of meetings of UEC are available for the information of members on the University’s website at


RC Professor Robin Coningham, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Social Sciences & Health)
AD Professor Andrew Deeks, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Science)
AF Professor Anthony Forster, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
CF Carolyn Fowler, Registrar and Secretary
CH Professor Chris Higgins, Vice-Chancellor & Warden
RH Professor Ray Hudson, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Partnerships and Engagement)
SK Professor Seth Kunin, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Arts & Humanities)
AM Dr Andrew Millard (Chair of AEA)