We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University Committees

Tuesday 14 October 2014

1. To receive Declaration of Interests: RH
2. To receive Thanks/Welcome: RH
Thanks: Professor Jon Gluyas (Earth Sciences); Professor Antony Long (Geography)

Welcome: Professor Claire Warwick (Pro-Vice-Chancellor Research)

Head of Departments: Professor Linda McKie (Applied Social Sciences); Professor Mark R Wilson (Chemistry); Professor Simon James (English Studies); Professor Michael Crang (Geography); Professor Simon Forrest (Medicine, Pharmacy and Health); Professor Simon Morris (Physics) and Professor Madeline Eacott (Psychology)

AEA members: Professor Gillian Bentley; Dr Gleider Hernandez and Dr Alan Kenwright

Head of College: Mr Adrian Simpson (return from Research Leave)
3. To approve Minutes: 24 June 2014: RH S/14/01
4. To receive Matters Arising: RH
5. To approve

Vice-Chancellor Recruitment Update: RH

Closed S/14/02

Clare Curran invited to attend (Available upon request from GES)

6. To approve

Process for the Appointment of External Representatived: RH


Clare Curran invited to attend

7. To endorse Head of Department: Earth Sciences and Biological and Biomedical Sciences: RH S/14/04 and 05 (to follow)
VC’s Business
8. To discuss Vice-Chancellor’s Questions: RH
9. To approve Co-opted Membership of Senate: RH S/14/06
10. To receive General Business: RH S/14/07 (to follow)
Principal Items
11. To discuss Research Strategy: CW Oral
12. To approve Principles of Student Engagement: GT S/14/08
13. To discuss Equality and Diversity Strategic Actions Update: TW S/14/09
14. To receive Update on Admissions: TW Oral
Committee Reports
15. To receive Report from Council: 15 July 2014: RH S/14/10
16. To approve Education Committee: 25 June 2014: TW S/14/11
17. To endorse Research Committee: 26 June 2014: CW S/14/12
18. To receive Ethics Advisory Committee: 1 October 2014: SH S/14/13
Information Items
To receive The following reports:
19. Standing Orders of Senate, and Joint Council and Senate Standing Orders, 2014/12: GD S/14/14
20. Chair's Action: RH
21. To report: that the Vice-Chancellor, acting on behalf of Senate, and the Chair of Council, acting on behalf of Council, have approved The appointment of Professor Michael Crang as
Acting Head of the Geography Department from 1 September - 31 December 2014 following the unforeseen step down of the current Head of Department.
22. Appointments and Resignations: RH (Available from GES upon request) S/14/15
23. Senior Appointments: RH S/14/16
24. Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Titles: DC/RC/PH S/14/17
25. Progress Report of Agreed Actions: RH S/14/18
26. University Executive Committee: RH
The minutes of meetings of UEC are available for the information of members on the University’s website at
The Colleges Annual Report 2014 is available at:

(DC) David Cowling, Interim Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Arts and Humanities)
(RC) Robin Coningham, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Social Sciences and Heath)
(GD) Gayle Ditchburn, Interim University Secretary
(SH) Simon Hackett, Vice-Chair Ethics Advisory Committee
(RH) Ray Hudson, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
(PH) Patrick Hussey, Interim Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Science)
(AM) Andrew Millard, Chair of AEA
(GT) Graham Towl, Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Deputy Warden
(TW) Tom Ward, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)
(CW) Claire Warwick, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)