Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University Committees

Senate

Senate is the University's supreme governing body in all academic matters. Subject to the powers of Council, Senate's role is to promote, oversee and regulate the teaching and research work of the University. Senate is also an academic governance and regulatory body, having responsibility for decision making on particular academic matters, a debating forum for key academic issues and a forum for information gathering and dissemination. 

Senate meeting dates and venues: academic year 2013/14
 

Date

Venue

Document Submission Date
Tuesday 15 October 2013 at 2.30 pm Penthouse A&B, Collingwood College Thursday 3 October 2013 10.00 am
Tuesday 19 November 2013 at 2.00 pm (Special Meeting) The Debating Chamber, Pemberton Building Thursday 7 November 2013 10.00 am
Tuesday 10 December 2013 at 2.30 pm Penthouse A&B, Collingwood College Thursday 28 November 2013 10.00 am
Tuesday 25 February 2014 at 2.30 pm Lindisfarne Centre, St. Aidan's College Thursday 13 February 2014 10.00 am
Thursday 3 April 2014 at 3.00 pm (Special Meeting) room 454, Durham University Business School n/a
Tuesday 29 April 2014 at 2.30 pm St. Hild and St. Bede, Joachim Room Tuesday 15 April 2014 10.00 am (due to Easter break Friday 18 April - Monday 21 April)
Tuesday 24 June 2014 at 2.30 pm Hogan Lovells Lecture Theatre, Durham Law School Thursday 12 June 2014 10.00 am

The deadline for the receipt of documents for items to be included on the agenda for meetings of Senate are set out above. Please follow the link below for information on the latest University Executive Committee (UEC) business meetings to which items must be submitted in order to be considered for inclusion on the Senate agenda:

Committee Scheduling Dates 2013/14

Please contact  Kate Deeming or Deborah English if you wish an item to be included on the agenda for a Senate meeting.

Senate minutes

The most recent minutes of Senate meetings can be found here. Minutes earlier than 1 August 2009 (where published) can be obtained from the University Secretary. However, enquirers who are external to the University may be asked to submit a formal request for consideration under the Freedom of Information Act and charges may apply.

The pages which follow outline what Senate does, who its members are and the key role played by Senate within the University.